Switching OS

Discussion in 'Distributed Computing' started by shadowpr, Jan 28, 2008.

  1. shadowpr

    shadowpr I like me

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7,343
    Location:
    Tejas
    I haven't checked yet, but I assume there is a smp service for linux.

    My question is this: Could it be possible to allow for it to work while i'm on windows, then when I switch to linux for a while, to just copy the work folder into linux and let the client just continue where the windows client left off? And then vice versa when I go back into windows?
     
  2. shadowpr

    shadowpr I like me

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7,343
    Location:
    Tejas
    Anyone????

    Also, does anyone know exactly how to set up the smp client in linux? Catacon suggested wine, and I'll definately look into that, especially for what I want to do with transfering the units, but is there another way to get the smp client installed?
     
  3. Jimmy0

    Jimmy0

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Messages:
    278
    Location:
    UK
    You can setup the SMP client natively within Linux, see here.

    However I am not sure about how you would go about carrying on the same protein when you switch OS's.
     
  4. shadowpr

    shadowpr I like me

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7,343
    Location:
    Tejas
    Thanks.

    I'll check that out in a bit.
     
  5. shadowpr

    shadowpr I like me

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7,343
    Location:
    Tejas
  6. shadowpr

    shadowpr I like me

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7,343
    Location:
    Tejas
    Well that didn't work.

    Anyone have any ideas how to get the windows smp client working in wine? I tried to install the client through wine, but then I get errors.

    I even tried to just use the linux smp client, but it only works on 64bit versions, and Mint is only 32.

    This will seriously stop me from actually using Linux.