Recommendations For Smart Network Switch

Discussion in 'Networking, Internet, Web Applications & The Cloud' started by Floppyman, Feb 12, 2017.

1. Floppyman

Floppyman PCMech Owner Staff Member

Hi all,

I'm looking to purchase a 16 - 24 port smart gigabit switch for a home network. Does anyone have any recommendations? Just looking through choices at Newegg I see that prices can vary quite a bit. Is it worth paying the premium for Cisco smart switch?

Thanks in advance.

2. reggie14

reggie14

I've been using TP-Link switches for a couple years now. I have some of each of these models:
    The 8-port model above supports the most features, including things like port mirroring. You can read a review here. But, if all you want is VLANs, the others should do.

3. Floppyman

Thanks - can these be rackmounted easily as well?

4. reggie14

reggie14

The 16 and 24 port versions seem to be. My 16 port ones came with rack mounting brackets. The switch itself isn't very wide, but the mounting brackets are a few inches wide, so I assume it brings it out to the standard rack size.

5. Jbc223456

Jbc223456

6. rjfvillarosa

rjfvillarosa Moderator Staff Member

7. Floppyman

Thanks everyone. Are Cisco smart switches worth the premium or am I just throwing money away? Thanks again.

8. reggie14

reggie14

If you want something nicer than the TP-Link gear (or the Netgear ProSafe), get a Ubiquiti EdgeSwitch Lite 24. If you need PoE, they have a model that supports that (for about twice as much).

There's nothing particularly special about the Cisco gear in a comparable price range (like the 200 series). The Ubiquiti, on the other hand, is a Layer 3 switch, not that you'll get much practical use out of that on a small home network.

9. Floppyman

Thanks @reggie14 -that Ubiquiti is a very nice switch! What additional features/capabilities does one get for about twice the cost (relative to the TP-Link)?

Thanks again.

10. reggie14

reggie14