New Flight Simulator-Dovetail Games Flight School

Discussion in 'Gaming and Benchmarks' started by David M, May 29, 2016.

1. David M

David M Techphile.

Yesterday I downloaded a completely new flight simulator called Dovetail Games Flight School.

For only 15 bucks from Steam you get quite a bit. The physics are real and so are the aircraft. The sim is oriented towards those who are a complete newbie to flight sims, which is a good thing because the other sims assume that you already have a certain level of knowledge about flying aircraft.....at least on a computer. :) For now the planes available are a Piper PA-18 and a Piper PA-28, which are pretty basic aircraft that are good for learning and practicing. Dovetail will eventually have hundreds of aircraft to choose from. The planes can be flown with a keyboard although eventually you will want a joystick or better yet a yolk.

The software has a school mode and a free flight mode that allows you to takeoff and land anywhere in the world. There are thousands of airports to choose from which include the accompanying scenery...it's pretty impressive in that respect. There are also thousands of radio nav aids to choose from for your flight planning. The plane has a working VOR (onboard radio nav aid) that you can use for learning. It also has a GPS, which of course makes the navigation super easy. It has a working radio stack and the ability to have airport communications. And yes, this software allows you to do a flight plan. It kinda requires it, but they make the flight planning easy.