Need help with computer re-build

Discussion in 'Build Your Own PC' started by Barbrich, Nov 27, 2017.

  1. SpencerC

    SpencerC

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016
    Messages:
    582
    Location:
    Southeast Texas
    Just making certain, has Pitriform fixed all their security issues? I haven't touched their software in a few months, so I wouldn't know :/
     
  2. SARGE

    SARGE The Preacher Man

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2000
    Messages:
    7,536
    Location:
    Texas
    I'm still using CCleaner and haven't read here of anyone quitting it.
     
  3. glc

    glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Messages:
    35,205
    Location:
    Joplin MO
    It's been fixed.
     
  4. Barbrich

    Barbrich

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    178
    I have installed the new SSD drive, put it on SATA 1 and windows will not install
    When I get to the screen that asks where to install windows, there are no options. Oh, do I need two cables to connect this or just 1 SATA cable?
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2017
  5. glc

    glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Messages:
    35,205
    Location:
    Joplin MO
    You need a data cable and a power cable.
     
  6. Barbrich

    Barbrich

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    178
    Well I'll be heading back to Best Buy after Church. I sure wish these came with cables, mounting brackets, screws, etc... Thanks again glc for your help!
     
  7. glc

    glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Messages:
    35,205
    Location:
    Joplin MO
    The PSU should have plenty of power connectors, and the motherboard should have come with several data cables. If you have no spares, just use one of the ones from your hard drives being that I've recommended you disconnect them during installation anyway. The case should have come with screws and a SSD mounting bracket.
     
  8. Barbrich

    Barbrich

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    178
    glc...you THE man! Why didn't I think of that...Windows is now installing... I will check back soon... Thanks again!
     
  9. glc

    glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Messages:
    35,205
    Location:
    Joplin MO
    Note that you should be using a SATA 6G data cable on the SSD and the two 1tb Black drives. Standard cable will work but may be a bit slower. The motherboard probably came with at least 2 of them, the connectors should be marked.

    If you need more:

    Coboc Model SC-SATA3-18 18" SATA III Cable - Newegg.com
     
  10. Barbrich

    Barbrich

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    178
    glc, please provide a link to newegg for my power cable. I have one in the cart, but want to be sure that is right. Thank you!
     
  11. Jbc223456

    Jbc223456

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    951
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Your power supply is not modular. It should have the SATA power cable you need to connect with already attached. You just need to hook it up from PSU to SSD.
     
  12. Barbrich

    Barbrich

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    178
    YES!!! I have it connected now! Thanks!
     
  13. glc

    glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Messages:
    35,205
    Location:
    Joplin MO
    Research tells me that your PSU has 8 SATA power connectors.

    Capture.PNG

    Power from PSU, data from motherboard.

    Are you ordering any SATA 6G cables?
     
  14. Barbrich

    Barbrich

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    178
    You are right glc. I have it now! Yes I am ordering from the link you provided above. I will change to the new SATA 6G cables when they arrive. I have all the drives up and running now. Only problem is, I can't seem to get the old windows deleted. Thanks for all the help.
     
  15. glc

    glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Messages:
    35,205
    Location:
    Joplin MO
    Just make sure that you have the bios set to boot from the SSD, not the old hard drive. Start Windows, then go to the old drive and delete the Windows folder.
     
  16. Barbrich

    Barbrich

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    178
    It will not let me delete windows on the old drive. I tried in safe mode also. I don't have permission...
     
  17. glc

    glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Messages:
    35,205
    Location:
    Joplin MO
    Go to Start, All Programs, Accessories. Right click on Command Prompt, select Run as Administrator. Issue the following command, where "X" is the drive letter of the old drive:

    RD X:\Windows /S/Q

    Then you can do this:

    RD X:\"Program Files" /S/Q
    RD X:\"Program Files (x86)" /S/Q
     
  18. Barbrich

    Barbrich

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    178
    That didn't work glc. On the end of each line, it said Access denied. I guess that means I will have to save all my photo to another drive and reformat and then move them back?
     
  19. glc

    glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Messages:
    35,205
    Location:
    Joplin MO
    No, we do have a way around it. Take ownership of the entire drive and grant full control to Administrators. Make sure you are logged into an account with Administrator privileges.

    Right click on the drive, select Properties. Go to the Security tab. Click Advanced and then the Owner tab. Click Edit and change owner to Administrators. Click the box to Replace owner on subcontainers and objects. This will take a while.

    When it's complete, reboot, go back to the Security tab in Properties, and click Edit. Highlight Administrators and check all boxes in the Allow column.

    Note: It's possible you may still be denied access to a specific folder. If this happens, just right click on it and repeat the above instructions.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    With all that said, it will be a lot cleaner if you just copy everything off the drive you need and reformat it (assuming you have space on another drive for them). I would not store photos or any data files on the SSD anyway. I will repost the link on how to move library locations (Pictures, Documents, Music, Videos, etc.) to a drive other than C:

    How to Move Your Documents, Music, and Other Folders Somewhere Else in Windows
     
  20. Barbrich

    Barbrich

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    178
    Thanks glc. I will try all this and let you know. I appreciate all the help!