Need Advice on first time gaming build

Discussion in 'Build Your Own PC' started by Kfed8908, Dec 20, 2016.

  1. glc

    glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Messages:
    49,195
    Location:
    Joplin MO
    System ram has nothing to do with video ram. The extra $30 gets you a slightly faster card.

    Rather than two 1070's, you would be better off with a single 1080. End cost is similar. Your PSU can handle a single 1080 but not two 1070's.
     
  2. David M

    David M Techphile.

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    9,066
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay
    Video RAM has a lot to do with being able to drive more pixels. 1K monitors, these days, are not considered to be monitors with a lot of pixels. The other factor with video RAM is how much the game will utilize to run itself. Different games utilize different amounts of V-RAM.
     
  3. Kfed8908

    Kfed8908

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    ok i have been having trouble trying to access my other hard drive i set the boot ordor in bios but nothing when i run the sytem...is there something im missing or need to do please help


    update: i figured it out all is good but is there anyway you can change the cd-roms name ?
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2017
  4. glc

    glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Messages:
    49,195
    Location:
    Joplin MO
    Name or drive letter? Name can't be changed as far as I know, but you can use Disk Management to change the drive letter.
     
  5. Kfed8908

    Kfed8908

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    oh ok thnx was trying to change the name i saw u can change the letter but dont need to
     
  6. Kfed8908

    Kfed8908

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2016
    Messages:
    52
  7. glc

    glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Messages:
    49,195
    Location:
    Joplin MO
    Your rear panel has 2 USB 3.0 ports, 2 USB 2.0 ports, and one USB Type C port. Your case has 1 USB 3.0 port and 2 USB 2.0 ports, do you have those hooked up? If so, you only have one open USB 2.0 header so you can only use a slot plate with 2 ports (One header is for 2 ports). Another option is an AC-powered USB hub.
     
  8. Kfed8908

    Kfed8908

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    All my usb ports r being used so was looking in to that as a option
     
  9. glc

    glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Messages:
    49,195
    Location:
    Joplin MO
    So - you are using 7 ports, not including the Type C port?
     
  10. auen1

    auen1

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,033
    Location:
    Nome, Ak
    If you go this route, look around for a good one.
    I bought some cheap ones, and they were not worth the money spent.
    Both broke pretty fast.
     
  11. Kfed8908

    Kfed8908

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    Yes i am.. what is a good brand for an ac powered usb port then
     
  12. auen1

    auen1

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,033
    Location:
    Nome, Ak
    I bought GearHead and GE brands, four USB ports, 2 of each.
    All broke with no abuse.
    Just what I could buy in town.
    I'd avoid those brands for sure.
     
  13. glc

    glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Messages:
    49,195
    Location:
    Joplin MO