Fallout 4

Discussion in 'Gaming and Benchmarks' started by sgtspector, Feb 5, 2016.

  1. Floppyman

    Floppyman Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 1999
    Messages:
    7,643
    Works fine - you need to hit "+Quote", then "Insert Quote" on the reply box.
     
  2. Floppyman

    Floppyman Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 1999
    Messages:
    7,643
    It's setup this way so you can quote multiple posts easily by hitting "+Quote" next to each you want to quote.

     
  3. David M

    David M Techphile.

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    9,201
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay
    I see now....one more step than with the last forum software. Thanks!
     
  4. sgtspector

    sgtspector

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,316
    Location:
    Mt. Hope, NY
    No the pc in my sig is dead and gone I just haven't changed it. I have Dell XPS. I checked the min requirements and everything seemed ok except the video card I haven't opened it up to see so I don't know if I could do SLI or not but I wouldn't be averse to upgrading the card if this one is way below what I need to enjoy the game. My Monitor is a Dell S2340L.
     
  5. tomster2300

    tomster2300 I like monkeys

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,563
    Location:
    The South
    I beat Fallout 4 on PC and created this - Fallout ultrawidescreen (3440x1440) examples - Album on Imgur - for someone on Reddit asking the same thing. I fluctuated between ~ 38 - 60 fps with my GTX 970 at 3440x1440 with the pc in my signature.

    You don't need to play any prior games to enjoy this one, as each game takes place in different time periods following the nuclear apocalypse. Having a general understanding of Fallout lore (who/what is Vault-Tec, what REALLY were the purposes of the vaults, etc.) will make the terminal stories more meaninful - Fallout series - Fallout Wiki - Wikia
     
  6. David M

    David M Techphile.

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    9,201
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay
    Which Dell XPS do you have? For an existing laptop it might be tough finding a fast enough graphics card. If you prefer to game on a new laptop, Asus has a few nice ones made for gaming.
    Asus ROG laptop

    You pretty much get what you pay for when it comes to graphics processing power.
     
  7. sgtspector

    sgtspector

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,316
    Location:
    Mt. Hope, NY
    It's a desktop 8700 i7 with 8 gb ram and plenty of disk space.
     
  8. glc

    glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Messages:
    34,540
    Location:
    Joplin MO
    You definitely need a stronger video card. You also may need a new PSU to handle a strong card.
     
  9. David M

    David M Techphile.

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    9,201
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay
    I got the Asus 980 Ti Strix. In Fallout 3, at 2560 x 1600 resolution with the game setting turned up all the way, I am getting a solid 60 FPS and no game crashes. Hooray!
     
    Jbc223456 likes this.
  10. Strider

    Strider

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Burb of Detroit, Mi
    I went over to the darkside (Apple 27" iMac with 5K Retina display) :D and install Windows 10 via Bootcamp. All I can say is Fallout 4 looks awesome on the Retina display and the gameplay isn't shabby either (I have it maxed out).
     
  11. David M

    David M Techphile.

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    9,201
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay
    What kind of graphics card does it have?
     
  12. Floppyman

    Floppyman Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 1999
    Messages:
    7,643
  13. David M

    David M Techphile.

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    9,201
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay
    Nice!...you will have to run 3D Mark11 and report back. :)

    Edit: I just ran it and got a score of 18371.
     
  14. David M

    David M Techphile.

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    9,201
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay
    Let's get a little friendly competition going with other gamers on who has the fastest computer.
     
  15. Erdimax

    Erdimax

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    yes, i like this
     
  16. David M

    David M Techphile.

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    9,201
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay
    Ok Erdi...what do you have? :)
     
  17. David M

    David M Techphile.

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    9,201
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay
    Is anyone also playing Fallout 4?

    Damn this game is addicting and extremely fun to play! I'm too embarrassed to say how many hours (days?) that I have put into this game.
     
  18. reggie14

    reggie14

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    797
    I got a free copy of the game and started playing it, but it was too complicated for me to enjoy it. It's definitely a nice game, but I think I wasn't able to put in enough time on it to learn the game and enjoy it.
     
  19. David M

    David M Techphile.

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    9,201
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay
    Yes, there is definitely a learning curve to the game. I learned tips about the game on the internet by Googling "Fallout 4 Youtube". It took some time but the time put in to learning it was worthwhile. It is definitely a very complex game.