Fallout 4

Discussion in 'Gaming and Benchmarks' started by sgtspector, Feb 5, 2016.

  1. sgtspector

    sgtspector

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,310
    Location:
    Mt. Hope, NY
    I haven't gamed in a while and was thinking of getting Fallout 4 for PC. I haven't played any of the Fallout series and I was wondering if it would be of any use to play the older titles before I play 4?
     
  2. rjfvillarosa

    rjfvillarosa Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    7,778
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales. UK
    Take a look at the latest version of "Doom" it looks awesome.

     
    rwest likes this.
  3. sgtspector

    sgtspector

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,310
    Location:
    Mt. Hope, NY
    Looks cool. I was a heavy "Doomer" back in the day. I don't care much for the multiplayer version but the campaigns may be worth the price.
     
  4. rjfvillarosa

    rjfvillarosa Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    7,778
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales. UK
    I first started playing Doom twenty odd years ago, it was on an old Viglen machine running W95. I had a floppy labelled "Frontiers" which you booted the machine up with and then ran Doom from a CD.
     
  5. David M

    David M Techphile.

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    9,023
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay
    I have played all of the versions of Fallout. Each version takes at least a hundred hours plus. It's a game that never really ends. The versions of Fallout get progressively better and require more video processing power. My two 6990's in Crossfire at 2560 x 1600 are not good enough for Fallout 4...believe it or not.

    I don't think I would start with the first version because it is going to seem too primitive but maybe start with Fallout: New Vegas and then go to Fallout 4. But knowing myself, I would start with the newest and I think the best version, Fallout 4.

    It's not a continuous story line between versions, say from from Fallout 3 to Fallout 4 for example, so it really does not matter where you start in the series.
     
  6. sgtspector

    sgtspector

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,310
    Location:
    Mt. Hope, NY
    Good info Dave thanks. That's what i needed to know. Now i gotta search around and see if my hardware can handle it.
     
  7. Jbc223456

    Jbc223456

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    845
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
  8. David M

    David M Techphile.

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    9,023
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2016
  9. Jbc223456

    Jbc223456

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    845
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Any reason you are going with the Poseidon instead of the STRIX edition, apart from the Poseidon having the plumbing available for watercooling?
     
  10. sgtspector

    sgtspector

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,310
    Location:
    Mt. Hope, NY
    Thanks JBC but I already checked the min requirements but that doesn't tell you how well it will run and if will it be as enjoyable with all the settings turned down. Dave's answer is more along the lines of what I need to find out. How well it will run with my hardware as it is currently without having to upgrade.
     
  11. David M

    David M Techphile.

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    9,023
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay
    The Poseidon is as fast as a Strix. It is a "P" (Platinum) series like the Strix meaning the GPU has been cherry picked for speed. One online review said it is 25% faster than a reference 980 plus you add another 10% with the water cooling and get a card that is 35% faster.

    It would be nice to connect up my computer cases massive three fan radiator, "super cool" it and then clock the hell out of it...fun fun fun. The Poseidon card is what they call a hybrid card meaning it can cool on water, air or both.

    I got away from water cooling for a number of years but the technology has changed (safer and more reliable now) and I would like to get back into it. I'm choosing to ignore what a pain in the arse it was at times. :D Using a tubing squeezer and putting towels everywhere helps when you have to disconnect tubing.
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2016
  12. David M

    David M Techphile.

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    9,023
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay
    Sgt, I will get back to you with the results of the Poseidon card. What resolution monitor are you talking there?
     
  13. Jbc223456

    Jbc223456

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    845
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Yeah, watercooling has come a long way. I really like the quick connect couplings that many reputable retailers are stocking these days. I was thinking of doing my next build as a watercooled setup.
     
  14. sgtspector

    sgtspector

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,310
    Location:
    Mt. Hope, NY
    23"
    Thx
     
  15. David M

    David M Techphile.

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    9,023
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay
    Would that would be a 1024 x 768 monitor? It is the number of pixels and not the physical size of a monitor that puts the load on a graphics card. :)
     
  16. sgtspector

    sgtspector

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,310
    Location:
    Mt. Hope, NY
    Right now I am running it at 1920 x 1080 on a Nvidia GeForce GT 720
     
  17. David M

    David M Techphile.

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    9,023
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay
    Ok...will let you know when I get the card. I can't imagine though that it will be any problem at that resolution even with all the games settings turned up all the way.
     
  18. glc

    glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Messages:
    49,094
    Location:
    Joplin MO
    A GT 720 is not a gaming card - it's a good cheap general purpose card. If this is in the computer in your signature, you aren't even close to the minimum requirements, much less recommended requirements for Fallout 4.

    Fallout 4 Minimum Requirements
    CPU: Intel Core i5-2300 2.8 GHz/AMD Phenom II X4 945 3.0 GHz or equivalent
    RAM: 8 GB
    OS: Windows 7/8/10 (64-bit OS required)
    Video Card: NVIDIA GTX 550 Ti 2GB/AMD Radeon HD 7870 2GB or equivalent
    Free Disk Space: 30 GB

    Fallout 4 Recommended Requirements
    CPU: Intel Core i7 4790 3.6 GHz/AMD FX-9590 4.7 GHz or equivalent
    RAM: 8 GB
    OS: Windows 7/8/10 (64-bit OS required)
    Video Card: NVIDIA GTX 780 3GB/AMD Radeon R9 290X 4GB or equivalent
    Free Disk Space: 30 GB
     
  19. David M

    David M Techphile.

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    9,023
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay
    Yes, agreed, I was referring to the Asus Poseidon as having no problem running Fallout 4 at 60 FPS, 1080p and at full settings. I was having the impression that sgt knew his current card was not good enough and he was looking for an upgrade. I was incorrect.
     
  20. David M

    David M Techphile.

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    9,023
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay
    I just ran across that game in a box of old game CD's. I think I will reinstall it for sentimental reasons. Will be fun to see how fast it runs now! :)

    Why doesn't Quote ever work? I was trying to quote post 2.