csc.exe application error

Discussion in 'Windows OS Support (Vista and newer)' started by mike12, Mar 17, 2017.

  1. mike12

    mike12

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,366
    Location:
    Pa.
    The last 5 days or so when I shut down my Windows 10 computer I get this message. CSC.EXE APPLICATION ERROR. THE APPLICATION WAS NOT ABLE TO START CORRECTLY (0XC0000142). CLICK OK TO CLOSE THE APPLICATION . I do not have to click OK, as the computer does shutdown in a second or two. I Googled this error and some people said it had to do with a program called BITMETER. One guy said he installed the program. deleted it, and his problem went away. I tried that, no luck. Another said to look for csc.exe in TaskManager, and Processes. I looked there, not there. There was also some relation to Auto cad programs etc. I do not have any auto cad programs on this computer. Suggestions please, Mike
     
  2. bob

    bob

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 1999
    Messages:
    5,099
    Location:
    LA, CA
    You could search the entire HD for CSC.EXE and have a place to start.

    Also in task manager you search details to get every running program. You can sort that by name with one click
     
  3. mike12

    mike12

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,366
    Location:
    Pa.
    Hi Bob, thanks for the reply. I did not search the entire HD for csc.exe, but I thought that if I typed it in the ASK ME ANYTHING box, it would find it. Nope, nothing. I did open Task Manager, and I searched Processes, Application History, Start up, Details, and Services. I jusat clicked at the top of each column, and it sorted everything alphabetically. csc.exe was not found.
     
  4. glc

    glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Messages:
    35,008
    Location:
    Joplin MO
    That's the Visual C# compiler. It's used by the .NET Framework. There may be an issue with your .NET installation or you installed some program that uses it that isn't playing nice.
     
  5. mike12

    mike12

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,366
    Location:
    Pa.
    Thanks glc for the info. Any suggestions on how to fix it ? Mike
     
  6. glc

    glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Messages:
    35,008
    Location:
    Joplin MO
    See if you can find a tool that will diagnose and repair .NET that's compatible with Windows 10. I don't think Microsoft has one yet.
     
  7. mike12

    mike12

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,366
    Location:
    Pa.
    How about this one
    Microsoft .NET Framework Repair Tool
     
  8. glc

    glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Messages:
    35,008
    Location:
    Joplin MO
     
  9. bob

    bob

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 1999
    Messages:
    5,099
    Location:
    LA, CA
    I found this:
    There is another version 4.6.2 out there
     
  10. glc

    glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Messages:
    35,008
    Location:
    Joplin MO
  11. mike12

    mike12

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,366
    Location:
    Pa.
    I checked the registry. I have #394802 which is .NET Framework 4.6.2 (Windows 10 Anniversary Update). Does this mean anything to anyone ? Looks like I have the latest version ??
     
  12. bob

    bob

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 1999
    Messages:
    5,099
    Location:
    LA, CA
    Why not install the 1 since 2 is not working well?
     
  13. glc

    glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Messages:
    35,008
    Location:
    Joplin MO
    I don't know if you can uninstall 4.6.2, but the fact remains you have a .NET issue.
     
  14. bob

    bob

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 1999
    Messages:
    5,099
    Location:
    LA, CA
    I (personally) would cheek for windows updates first. Next try would be to use win 10 repair. Next step is to disable every program that runs at startup and test each one.
    Last step reinstall over the top.
     
  15. mike12

    mike12

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,366
    Location:
    Pa.
    I tried installing 4.6.1 but was told it would not install since there was a later version already installed.
     
  16. bob

    bob

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 1999
    Messages:
    5,099
    Location:
    LA, CA
    My other ideas or the last known good configuration restore point.
     
  17. mike12

    mike12

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,366
    Location:
    Pa.
    Bob, I disabled the remaining 13 items that were enabled in Task Manager. Then I shutdown the computer. No error message, so I think you found the problem. I will enable a program or two at a time, and see what happens. Many thanks, Mike
     
  18. mike12

    mike12

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,366
    Location:
    Pa.
    Thanks everyone for all the suggestions. As you can read above in post #17, I disabled all the remaining items. When I shut down the computer, it went fine. NO error message about that csc.exe error. Thanks, Mike