Could this be a hardware or software problem..

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware' started by DMD, Sep 12, 2017.

  1. DMD

    DMD

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    Colo Sprgs,Colo
    And what might be causing it?

    Home built PC running Windows 7 64 bit.
    My wife works from home on the PC and she needs to refresh screens to see if new jobs have been assigned to her.
    Starting a few days ago when she refreshes the screen goes black and says

    Reboot and select proper boot device
    Or insert boot media in selected boot device and press a key.

    She hasn't been doing either but if she just shuts down the PC with the power button and restarts it, It will start up just fine but this happens a couple times a day.

    Any ideas? I have no clue

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. glc

    glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Messages:
    34,674
    Location:
    Joplin MO
    I would set the power management to do nothing - in other words, everything always on. I would also go into advanced system settings, startup and recovery, and uncheck automatically restart on system failure.
     
  3. DMD

    DMD

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    Colo Sprgs,Colo
    Hope this helps glc. Will try it.
    1 thing the power management.. The PC is left on pretty much 24/7. Will the "do nothing" stop it from going into sleep mode to save electricity?
    It has been working till this started.

    Also. Any idea what might cause this to all of a sudden start to happen?
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2017
  4. glc

    glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Messages:
    34,674
    Location:
    Joplin MO
    You can still manually put it into sleep mode.
     
  5. reggie14

    reggie14

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    833
    @DMD - What do you mean by "she refreshes the screen?"
     
  6. DMD

    DMD

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    Colo Sprgs,Colo
    Her work software has a refresh button just like you have on a browser reggie I believe it works with internet explorer but not real sure..