Can't view forum threads

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Issues' started by Jbc223456, Dec 15, 2017.

  1. Jbc223456

    Jbc223456

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    966
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Hi @Floppyman

    Currently, I cannot view any forum thread contents. I get a redirect to cloudfare saying that there is a bad gateway (502 error).

    I can view the forum homepage, click into individual subforums (such as this one), but I cannot view individual threads.

    Thoughts?
     
  2. Jbc223456

    Jbc223456

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    966
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Well, forget I ever said anything. After posting this thread, whatever it was preventing me from view the threads has cleared up.
     
  3. Blaster3

    Blaster3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,235
    Location:
    Long Island
    it's been happening at different intervals... same has happened to me several times last few days, blew it off as bad internet connection/maintenaince/weather...

    edit: this only happened when using the smart aleck phone, not my pc...
     
  4. Bob338

    Bob338

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,018
    Location:
    California
    I've had it happen a couple of times, only on PC. Don't usually have internet connection problems but that was what I attributed to.
     
  5. Jbc223456

    Jbc223456

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    966
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    When it was happening this morning, I tried on both my work and personal laptops as well as my smartphone to the same effect.
     
  6. glc

    glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Messages:
    35,446
    Location:
    Joplin MO
    We are aware of the issue and are working to fix it.
     
  7. glc

    glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Messages:
    35,446
    Location:
    Joplin MO
    Issue should be resolved now, please post back if it happens again.
     
  8. Floppyman

    Floppyman PCMech Owner Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 1999
    Messages:
    7,707
    Location:
    Northeast U.S.A.
    There were some minor file system issues yesterday that caused DB errors and may have led to intermittent site connectivity for a brief period. Those should now be resolved. Thanks again for your patience.

    Regarding the 502 errors: If you guys notice a lot of those, please let me or one of the admins know. These essentially mean that Cloudflare cannot talk to the (origin) server, suggesting an issue with the server and/or host that should be looked into.
     
  9. Blaster3

    Blaster3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,235
    Location:
    Long Island
    this mornin, getting 520 error clicking on any conversation...

    also, tried to post screenshot of error with ray id # and time code, but pcmech won't allow the screenshot, says 'too large', it's the same as i always post, "grab area" not "whole screen"... did you change image size allocation/limits???


    edit: odd that ierror only occurs in conversations/pm's ???

    still can't post screenshots even though re-sized to 986x167, says "too large"

    also, posting delayed forever (again), have to click 'save changes' 'post reply' , wait, click again to get it to work
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2017
  10. glc

    glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Messages:
    35,446
    Location:
    Joplin MO
    1000x252 test

    Capture.JPG
     
  11. Blaster3

    Blaster3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,235
    Location:
    Long Island
    workin now...

    upload_2017-12-26_10-31-32.png

    upload_2017-12-26_10-31-3.png
     
  12. glc

    glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Messages:
    35,446
    Location:
    Joplin MO
    Again.......

    Capture.JPG
     
  13. Blaster3

    Blaster3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,235
    Location:
    Long Island
    all seems normal now...
     
  14. glc

    glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Messages:
    35,446
    Location:
    Joplin MO
    Yep - looks like we're good now. Good old Cloudflare...........
     
  15. quartet-man

    quartet-man Saved by grace

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,516
    Location:
    Indiana
    I had that (or a similar error message looking like that) pop up for a few a good little bit one day probably a couple of weeks ago. (I can't recall exactly when). I want to say it was on a Friday mid to late afternoon or so (guessing between 3-5 EST), but my memory might be faulty
     
  16. Floppyman

    Floppyman PCMech Owner Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 1999
    Messages:
    7,707
    Location:
    Northeast U.S.A.
    Unfortunately, the above mentioned file system related issue re-occurred briefly last week, but the host resolved it quickly (and hopefully this will be the last time we see this happening). Please keep me in the loop if it should happen again.
     
    quartet-man likes this.