yes,another license question

Discussion in 'Windows Legacy Support (XP and earlier)' started by timewarped72, Mar 22, 2005.

1. timewarped72

timewarped72

well i searched this topic and i'm still a little confused regarding using windows on another or new pc, so i'm asking this anyway to avoid any complications as i'm a newbie to all this and would like to keep it simple.....
    ok here's the deal.....i have a dell p3 550, i bought it refurbed and purchased xp oem home and installed it on the dell.
    i was going to upgrade it but said forget that i want to build my own, so, i'll be building a computer from scratch.
    now, can i simply re register my windows to the new computer, or do i have to buy a license to do so??
    also, i will probably be giving the old computer to my parents, if i left xp registered to that computer can they use it or would they have to buy a license or a new xp cd??
    either way i know i'll be buying one operationg system i'm just trying to figure out if i can do anything with the one i have in this situation..
    any help appreciated.................

2. glc

glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

Technically (legally), the copy of XP that is on the Dell must stay with it, but it CAN be reactivated on a new computer and nobody is going to complain if you wipe the Dell. The easiest thing to do is give the Dell to your parents with the XP disk you have, and buy another copy of XP for your new build.

3. timewarped72

timewarped72

thats what i was thinking of doing.........so they can just re register it in their name????
    also......since the new computer will be a home built one, how or does microsoft register it to a computer like that??? i assume they cant (yet) and thats the idea of the sticker they give you to put on the computer....

Last edited: Mar 22, 2005
  4. sdkfz

sdkfz

my quots got lost