Working with Stocks

Discussion in 'Build Your Own PC' started by t7riggah, Dec 2, 2005.

  1. t7riggah

    t7riggah

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    154
    Hi, my dad wants a computer thats pretty fast and good for his stocks.

    He usually has many internet explorer windows up
    Some text editors
    and a big stock program that hogs alot of memory. We are already at 1 gb and it slows down somewhat.

    what kind of processor shall i get? a Pentium?
     
  2. Cricket

    Cricket Shiro Usagi

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 1999
    Messages:
    34,001
    Location:
    Kaneohe, Hawaii
    What kind of budget are you working with?

    Have you looked at pre-builts like DELL? Or do you want to build this computer?

    :) Cricket
     
  3. rspassey

    rspassey ~ Ryan ~

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Messages:
    3,515
    Location:
    Jackson TN
    Seems like a dual core might be a valuable investiment if you are doing lots of multitasking like you mentioned.
     
  4. LoC

    LoC

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    313
    aye and maybe 2GB ram and possibly even 4GB. plus a dual monitor setup so he will need a somehwat decent graphics card. (probably want two 17" LCDs that are $215-235 each) (note, i used a stock program to with two monitors it was FANTASTIC!) and either get a 3700+ San Diego or get a dual core. BUT if you get an ASUS board, a cheap one that is around $80 you can easily replace it for a better dual core in the future when, if there aren't any, dual core utilizing stock watch programs are common.
     
  5. rspassey

    rspassey ~ Ryan ~

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Messages:
    3,515
    Location:
    Jackson TN
    Trust me, do NOT spend money on 4gb RAM at this moment. Two more than enough for most people including heavy gamers like myself. 2gb RAM will be suitable for a build like yours.
     
  6. xdkimx

    xdkimx

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    high budget:

    gpu: 2x 6600gt
    mobo: sli mobo
    monitor: 4x dell 2405
    cpu: dual core intel
    ram: 2gb

    lower budget

    gpu: 6600gt
    mobo:non sli
    monitor: 2x dell 2005
    cpu: pentium 4 (dono much about intels :p)
    ram: 2gb

    i also agree currently 2gb of ram is more than enough on a desktop computer, its most likely the proc thats slowing his computer down, also try to get him at least 2 large monitors or a lcd tv so he has more space to work with when looking at stock charts/graphs
     
  7. rspassey

    rspassey ~ Ryan ~

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Messages:
    3,515
    Location:
    Jackson TN
    xdkimx - just so you know - you cannot use multi GPU rendering with more than one monitor, and those four in the highbudget out not be redered with SLI. And no need for such a powerful GPU for only viewing IE and stock program - can drop that to something more suitable. We really need a budget to play with.
     
  8. xdkimx

    xdkimx

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    yeah i should of put "high budget" "extremely high budget" lol

    really, i thought u could plug up to 4 monitors on dual gpus
     
  9. blue60007

    blue60007 Wx geek

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2005
    Messages:
    6,638
    Location:
    Indiana
    You'd either need a workstation card with quad heads, or a PCI-E card and a PCI card with 2 outputs.
     
  10. Stuey

    Stuey Defenestrator

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,371
    Location:
    NYC & NJ
    He definitely doesn't need SLI. I recommend a video card with dual DVI output, and two 19 inch monitors. It would allow for many web sites to be open and it allows for much multitasking.
     

Share This Page