Wireless wont connect after encrypting

Discussion in 'Online Security' started by FlyerFanatic08, Aug 9, 2009.

  1. FlyerFanatic08

    FlyerFanatic08

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    I am trying to help my parents setup a wireless modem, everything runs smoothly on the laptop, but when I went to encrypt the wireless modem, the internet stops working on the laptop. i turned off the encryption to see if it still connected, it does, so what am i doing wrong once the encryption is on? i am assuming it must be in the settings of the laptop i just cant find. any help is appreciated
     
  2. rjfvillarosa

    rjfvillarosa Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    7,561
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales. UK
    After encryption can you see the modem in the available wireless networks?
     
  3. FlyerFanatic08

    FlyerFanatic08

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    yea, i believe so
     
  4. rjfvillarosa

    rjfvillarosa Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    7,561
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales. UK
    In order to connect wirelessly, you will need to select your modem/router from the list of available wireless networks and when prompted type in the encryption key.
    If the laptop is hardwired and you are losing connection after enabling encryption, which encryption are you enabling? WEP, WPA or MAC address encryption?
     
  5. FlyerFanatic08

    FlyerFanatic08

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    I am trying to enable WEP, the laptop isnt hardwired, its downstairs while the modem is upstairs. maybe the modem wasnt avail to choose, dont ever remember being prompted for the key. i'll go double check and update ya
     
  6. rjfvillarosa

    rjfvillarosa Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    7,561
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales. UK
    If it is a wireless modem/router the WEP key is usually on the bottom on a white sticker with the bar code.
    You will definately need the WEP key in order to connect, thats the idea behind it.
    Can you tell me what modem it is? make and model?
     
  7. FlyerFanatic08

    FlyerFanatic08

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    its a linksys WRT310N

    i know you type in the numbers in your address bar, thats how i set up the WEP encryption. after doing that, thats when the net wouldnt connect on the laptop anymore. thats why i think it must be the settings on the laptop.

    i still gotta get on the laptop to see if the modem shows up in the connections, parents arent home, not sure what their pass is to logon to the lappy, so once i get onto the lappy i'll fiddle around.
     
  8. rjfvillarosa

    rjfvillarosa Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    7,561
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales. UK
    Enter your version number and download the user manual from here.
    http://www.linksysbycisco.com/LATAM/en/support/WRT310N/download
    After you turn on WEP you need to enter wireless security and create a password. Usually with Linksys you type in something similar to a username and it autogenerates a password for you.
     
  9. glc

    glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Messages:
    46,967
    Location:
    Joplin MO
    I'd recommend WPA, not WEP.
     
  10. FlyerFanatic08

    FlyerFanatic08

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    not sure if that option was avail..i'll look, do you set it up the same way?
     
  11. glc

    glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Messages:
    46,967
    Location:
    Joplin MO
    Look for either WPA-PSK or WPA-Personal. That way, all you need is any 8 or more character password, not a hex key.
     
  12. FlyerFanatic08

    FlyerFanatic08

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    ok, when i enter the password, then i need to go onto the laptop and find the wirless modem and it will ask me for that password then?
     
  13. glc

    glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Messages:
    46,967
    Location:
    Joplin MO
    Yes.

    By the way, that's not a modem, it's just a router.
     
  14. FlyerFanatic08

    FlyerFanatic08

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    haha, same difference? :D

    thanks for the clarification
     
  15. Force Flow

    Force Flow Barefoot on the Moon! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2002
    Messages:
    14,143
    Location:
    Northeastern USA
    A modem (aka modulator-demodulator) is responsible for converting data into a transmission format/signal for transmission over a specific medium (phone line, cable line, etc) to your ISP.

    A router is responsible for directing and forwarding network traffic on your home or office network.
     
  16. FlyerFanatic08

    FlyerFanatic08

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    ahh ok thanks
     
  17. glc

    glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Messages:
    46,967
    Location:
    Joplin MO
    The thing between your router and the cable or phone line is the modem.
     

Share This Page