Who said AMD's are better gaming systems?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by HAL9000, May 7, 2004.

  1. HAL9000

    HAL9000

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 1999
    Messages:
    17,633
    Location:
    Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
  2. doctorgonzo

    doctorgonzo Professional gadfly

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2002
    Messages:
    6,364
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Wow. That's incredibly stupid. If nothing changes, I guess I will be rethinking my next build, where I was going to use a 64-bit Athlon XP.
     
  3. glc

    glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Messages:
    47,822
    Location:
    Joplin MO
    I think we need clarification here - it's my impression that there's no such thing as a "64-bit Athlon XP". There's the Athlon XP, and there's the Athlon 64. I wouldn't expect a hard core gamer that is going to buy a PCI Express video card to try to run it on an "old tech" Athlon XP (Barton, T-Bred, Thorton, whatever).
     
  4. doctorgonzo

    doctorgonzo Professional gadfly

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2002
    Messages:
    6,364
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Thanks for the clarification, glc. I guess I scanned the article too quickly and came away with the impression that AMD wasn't going to have PCI Express support for either its 32- or 64-bit processors.
     
  5. HAL9000

    HAL9000

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 1999
    Messages:
    17,633
    Location:
    Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
    Yes... this is true GLC... but forcing one to the 64 bit which is higher on the price scale to begin with, just to get PCI-Express which those cards won't be cheap, to run games that aren't 64 bit yet on 32 bit operating systems... doesn't seem too cost effective for the consumer yet.
     
  6. SonicVanguard

    SonicVanguard Audio/Video Expert

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,625
    Location:
    West Michigan
    But have you seen the benchmarks for the new class of cards? the X800XT and FX6800 are both great cards, but they both showed huge bottlenecks at the CPU level under certain conditions (wide open with Anti-Aliasing and Shading turned off). That won't be acceptable to a hard-core gamer who will put the money out for a 64bit CPU to overcome that bottleneck. For the hard-core gamer, it's the GPU that's the focus and heart of the system - if the CPU is slowing things down, it's time for a upgrade.

    Dave.
     
  7. Jimmy White

    Jimmy White

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    676
    Location:
    England the centre of the world
    PCI express is still along way away and within this year AMD are releaseing the AMD 64 2800 and others for the same price as the XP. AMD seem to be completely ditching the XP and carrying on with there 64bit processors and also some games in development have 64bit extensions.

    Also the people who will be buying the PCI express card when they are released have alot of money to throw around so i dont think upgrading the CPU will be much hasstle and by the time PCI express is main stream AMD 64 will have matured and have overtaken XP (which will be a low end CPU)
     
  8. Propain

    Propain

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,012
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    This means that if you are an Athlon XP owner and you want to buy a new graphics card after June/July, you will have to change motherboard and processor too. from article



    YES! another good excuse to buy a AMD64 Mobo and CPU !! thanks for the heads up Hal!!
     
  9. TeenPcknowit

    TeenPcknowit

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    319
    Location:
    Pittsburgh,PA
    Or another excuse to go with the superior pentium 4....
     
  10. Jimmy White

    Jimmy White

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    676
    Location:
    England the centre of the world
    :rolleyes: fan boy
     
  11. Propain

    Propain

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,012
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada

    hmm lets not go there
     
  12. jimmyrules712

    jimmyrules712

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,065
    think about it, when pci express graphics cards comeo ut, they're going to be very expensive, if someone is going to put htat much money into one, i doubt they'll be running an athlon xp.
     
  13. HAL9000

    HAL9000

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 1999
    Messages:
    17,633
    Location:
    Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
    I dunno... still doesn't make a whole lotta sense to me to put all your eggs into a 64bit basket right now... kinda like dumping a 454 into your hot rod but running only 4 spark plugs in my opinion.
     
  14. Colonel Sanders

    Colonel Sanders Resident AMD enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,445
    Location:
    Kansas
    a 454 with 4 spark plugs? That sounds more like a crippeled engine. The way I see it, putting PCI express on an Athlon XP would be more like a 454 with 4 spark plugs.

    I think AMD is more or less keeping their top CPUs with top graphics cards, and not developing a PCI-X chipset for the XP because it would be wasted.
     
  15. imbest123

    imbest123 iTroll

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    2,255
    Location:
    818
    I think both 64-bit cpu's and PCI Express should both be used. The way I see it is the faster they release these new technologies the faster people will accomodate to them so that they can be fully utilized.
     
  16. Strider

    Strider

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Messages:
    887
    Location:
    Burb of Detroit, Mi
    Why waste Research & Development on "Old School" technology when it can be better utilized on something better.
     
  17. TwoRails

    TwoRails

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    12,594
    Location:
    The Great NorthWest
    I don't really see anything shocking there. The XP is now "legacy" stuff. The A64 series is the new line replacement for the XPs as it was intended to be, with the FX series being the top of the line. That's kinda like being shocked that Intel won't do a major renovation on the PIII.
     
  18. Nuclear Krusader

    Nuclear Krusader Mondsreitersmann

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 1999
    Messages:
    8,995
    Location:
    Skingrad
    I wonder if Intel is gonna do something similar. :confused:
     
  19. Colonel Sanders

    Colonel Sanders Resident AMD enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,445
    Location:
    Kansas
    I may be wrong, but didn't Intel make a RAMBUS chipset for the P3?

    L J
     
  20. TwoRails

    TwoRails

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    12,594
    Location:
    The Great NorthWest
    I couldn't say... I never paid attention to RAMBUS, so I don't even know when it came out in the CPU timeline. :eek:
     

Share This Page