Tweaking For Flight Simulator 2004

Discussion in 'Gaming and Benchmarks' started by Sharif, Apr 10, 2005.

  1. Sharif

    Sharif

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    579
    Ok,

    So I just got Black Betty up and running. And DAMN this thing is fast compared to my old system (check my sig for betty's specs)... I also got Flight Simulator 2004 and I just wanted to know how I can get the best quality and performance out of the game and my computer. All help is appreciated.
     
  2. netnamakan

    netnamakan

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    582
    Location:
    W. Canada
    Mainly just make sure it stays free of spyware and viruses, that it is defragged now and then, and make sure to practice good browsing habits!

    they are a few tweak guides in the PCM article section, maybe take a look at those.

    This site doest have any guide for FS2004, however they have lots of other guides for optimizing your system.
     
  3. Sharif

    Sharif

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    579
    Hey did you ever use the windows xp tweak program on that site?
     
  4. netnamakan

    netnamakan

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    582
    Location:
    W. Canada
    No I havent used any program from that site, I dont recall seeing it, could you link? I dont usually use programs anyway, I prefer to do it myself and know exactly whats going on.
     
  5. Sharif

    Sharif

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    579
  6. netnamakan

    netnamakan

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    582
    Location:
    W. Canada
    That is just a big pdf tweak guide.
     
  7. arthur666

    arthur666

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Messages:
    294
    FS2004 on that system? Crank up every setting to high/best/gee whiz/etc. and go! Fs2004 ran admirably on my 1333 T-bird w/5600 ultra most settings at the upper end of medium.
     
  8. Sharif

    Sharif

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    579
    That's the thing Arthur... I got all settings set to "Ultra-High" and I still only get a average of 25FPS... why am I not getting near the 50's?
     
  9. arthur666

    arthur666

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Messages:
    294
    what resolution are you running at? I usually consider 1028 x 7whatever to be my max for games, best visuals/performance ratio, but I am running a 128MB 5600 ultra AGPx8.
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2005
  10. netnamakan

    netnamakan

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    582
    Location:
    W. Canada
    Are you running the latest drivers directly from ATI?

    Check for game patches as well.
     
  11. Sharif

    Sharif

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    579
    I have the latest ATI drivers and game patches... am running at 1280x1024x32... I saw that if I use any other resolution, the quality really sucks!
     
  12. arthur666

    arthur666

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Messages:
    294
    Try turning down settings one at a time, and see what has the most effect on performance. I've never run an Intel or an ATI, so I'm not sure which ones to try first. I heard that the human eye cannot detect more than 30 fps, so as long as the game never slows to below that, you should be golden. You can set the program to try to to stay above 30 fps in one of the FS2004 display settings panels, and it will make some automatic adjustments.
     

Share This Page