Switching OS

Discussion in 'Distributed Computing' started by shadowpr, Jan 28, 2008.

  1. shadowpr

    shadowpr I like me

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7,343
    Location:
    Tejas
    I haven't checked yet, but I assume there is a smp service for linux.

    My question is this: Could it be possible to allow for it to work while i'm on windows, then when I switch to linux for a while, to just copy the work folder into linux and let the client just continue where the windows client left off? And then vice versa when I go back into windows?
     
  2. shadowpr

    shadowpr I like me

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7,343
    Location:
    Tejas
    Anyone????

    Also, does anyone know exactly how to set up the smp client in linux? Catacon suggested wine, and I'll definately look into that, especially for what I want to do with transfering the units, but is there another way to get the smp client installed?
     
  3. Jimmy0

    Jimmy0

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Messages:
    278
    Location:
    UK
    You can setup the SMP client natively within Linux, see here.

    However I am not sure about how you would go about carrying on the same protein when you switch OS's.
     
  4. shadowpr

    shadowpr I like me

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7,343
    Location:
    Tejas
    Thanks.

    I'll check that out in a bit.
     
  5. shadowpr

    shadowpr I like me

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7,343
    Location:
    Tejas
  6. shadowpr

    shadowpr I like me

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7,343
    Location:
    Tejas
    Well that didn't work.

    Anyone have any ideas how to get the windows smp client working in wine? I tried to install the client through wine, but then I get errors.

    I even tried to just use the linux smp client, but it only works on 64bit versions, and Mint is only 32.

    This will seriously stop me from actually using Linux.
     

Share This Page