slow connection part 2

Discussion in 'Networking, Internet, Web Applications & The Cloud' started by pilgrim, Nov 2, 2011.

  1. pilgrim

    pilgrim

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2002
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Waukee, IA
    hello forum,

    i have mediacom cable broadband connection (being advertised up to 12 Mbps download and up to 1 Mbps upload),
    Modem is RCA DCM425 and i have router from Linksys WRT54GC.
    My main PC connection is wired.
    My laptop is wireless.

    My NIC is updated (as GLC suggested to check)

    I have class from school with online program, and when i do my task, often the connection is lost or disconnect, it was very annoying.
    So what step can i do to stay online/connect ?
    I called the Mediacom tech support and what they ask me to do is unplug the modem and router and plug them back.
    It did not fixed the problem.

    can anybody help ?

    thanks in advance.
     
  2. glc

    glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Messages:
    46,946
    Location:
    Joplin MO
    Please provide a link to part 1.
     
  3. pilgrim

    pilgrim

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2002
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Waukee, IA
  4. EzyStvy

    EzyStvy Ride 'em Cowboy Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 1999
    Messages:
    10,127
    Location:
    Dallas, Tx
    Is the school class site the only site you have troubles with? If so, you just narrowed down where the problem is.
     
  5. pilgrim

    pilgrim

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2002
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Waukee, IA
    i try youtube, and it does sometimes (drop the connection).

    I was wondering if i need to tweak the linksys router web-base configuration to get the smooth connection. Do I ?

    or is this just poor service that Mediacom provided ?
     
  6. glc

    glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Messages:
    46,946
    Location:
    Joplin MO
    That thread was started by someone else.

    RCA cable modems are not very good, and the WRT54GC is not one of Linksys's better routers. You could try a firmware update on the Linksys, then a hard reset.
     
  7. pilgrim

    pilgrim

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2002
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Waukee, IA
    the RCA modem is provided by mediacom and i need to rent it for $5/month, the router has been with me for the last 5 years.

    before i switch to mediacom, that linksys router working awesome for my need.

    now, if i buy a cable modem myself, mediacom told me that it "might not work". Is that true ??? I ask the support lady why, she doesn't know the reason.

    any advice ?
     
  8. glc

    glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Messages:
    46,946
    Location:
    Joplin MO
    Not true. Any standard DOCSIS modem should work as long as it's the right version.

    After 5 years, it's VERY possible the router is starting to go. Update the firmware and hard reset it.
     
  9. pilgrim

    pilgrim

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2002
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Waukee, IA
    what do you mean by the "right version" ?

    any suggestion on brand and model for the cable modem and the router, glc ?
     
  10. glc

    glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Messages:
    46,946
    Location:
    Joplin MO
    The right DOCSIS version - 1.1, 2.0, or 3.0.

    For cable modems, I prefer Motorola. For a router, I prefer the Linksys WRT54GL.
     

Share This Page