Ready to build my first gaming PC

Discussion in 'Build Your Own PC' started by Milkdud, Nov 1, 2011.

1. Milkdud

Milkdud

I want to build a gaming PC that will run BF3 on high as well as other games in the future. Here's a link for what I have chosen so far:
    System Build - PCPartPicker

I already have 2 HDDs and an optical drive. I chose a 750w PSU because I plan to Crossfire at some point. Since I'm not sure what to look for in a motherboard, I wasn't sure if this one would be sufficient or not. I also wanted to know if there's any reason to get 8GB of RAM instead of 4. I'd like to be in the $800 range, and any suggestions would be great.

2. David M

David M Techphile.

3. glc

glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

4. Milkdud

Milkdud

Great, thanks for the advice. I made the changes you suggested System Build - PCPartPicker.

I'm not very tech savvy, so I have a few dumb questions just to make sure I do this right. I'm just curious what you mean when you say the Gigabyte mobo won't work for crossfire because the second slot is 4x. I was also looking at Khalil's guide, and he seems to like Biostar motherboards. Since the Asus board is more expensive than the one I originally chose, would this Biostar board negatively affect performance.

Also, do you think its worth it to plan for crossfire, and could you suggest what mobo I should get if I don't plan to crossfire? I know I would downgrade to a 650w PSU. I just want to weigh my options before I pull the trigger.

Again, thanks a lot for the advice and sorry about the noob questions.

5. David M

David M Techphile.

Why not the Revolution at 2 x 16 lanes? Is it because it is not a Z68 chipset?

6. glc

glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

Out of the budget range, David.

The Asus is more expensive for a reason - Biostar boards are okay but they are not top quality.