Network card issue

Discussion in 'Online Security' started by pc master, Mar 25, 2008.

  1. pc master

    pc master

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    U.K
    I restored my brothers Compaq desktop yesterday(SR1807) and now it wont recognise the built in network card. It seems like windows doesnt know that the motherboard as built in networking.

    it is the same when I use a PCI network. I am really stuck with this and dont know that else to try. if it helps, both network cards have realtek chips.

    Any Advice?
     
  2. rjfvillarosa

    rjfvillarosa Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    7,720
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales. UK
    Can you see the card in Device Manager? if you can, does it have a yellow triangle next to it?
     
  3. pc master

    pc master

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    U.K
    No the card doesnt apppear at all.
     
  4. mikeL

    mikeL

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 1999
    Messages:
    1,063
    Location:
    Northeast, Michigan
    What about Unknown Devices in Device manager?
     
  5. pc master

    pc master

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    U.K
    No theres nothing. I am beginning to thinkk the motherboard is faulty. AS Pci network dont work either.
     
  6. ITlover

    ITlover Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Messages:
    909
    Location:
    Pakistan
    Computer Specifications

    Can you please give the complete specifications of your computer?

    Are you using WinXP with SP2? Did you reinstall or repaired the windows?

    Do you have the Motherboard driver CD that you must have got with this Compaq computer?

    Just insert that CD into the CD-ROM and update the motherboard ,hopefully this will solve the problem?
     
  7. pc master

    pc master

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    U.K
    It is using XP SP2, I used the system restore CD provided.

    There was no driver CD. I have downloaded the ATI Chipset drivers, but it didnt help.

    I think the motherboard might be faulty.
     

Share This Page