Kingston VS PNY

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware' started by 9600baud, Sep 9, 2002.

  1. 9600baud

    9600baud

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    Messages:
    246
    Hello,

    i was wondering if anyone has tried to OC these two brands of DDR. If so... any sucess? (OC from 2100 --> 2700) Thanks... Also, any reviews on these two different brands is welcome.
     
  2. morriswindgate

    morriswindgate Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2000
    Messages:
    7,761
    Location:
    Bakersfield,CA
    Both are excellant brands, although PNY always seems to be higher in price.
     
  3. Mr N8

    Mr N8

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2001
    Messages:
    2,094
    Location:
    Racine, WI
    I would recommend Kingston. I've been hearing about QC issues with PNY as of late. They seem to be having a higher failure rate than usual.
     
  4. Hot Rod

    Hot Rod

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2001
    Messages:
    413
    Location:
    Iowa
    I've always been happy with Kingston.
     
  5. glc

    glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Messages:
    47,829
    Location:
    Joplin MO
    Neither company makes the actual ram chips - so the quality is dependent on who they bought that batch of chips from. I believe Kingston assembles their own modules but I don't know about PNY - they may be relabeled modules made elsewhere. The last time I looked at Kingston and PNY modules, they both had Samsung chips on them, but I've seen others.
     
  6. 9600baud

    9600baud

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    Messages:
    246
    the repackaging piece of information is very interesting... Its too bad they do that, but oh well, apparently Kingston's a more solid choice, and since both are about the same price, ill stick with it. Thanks! (although i still dont know who overclocks better :p)
     
  7. Cricket

    Cricket Shiro Usagi

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 1999
    Messages:
    34,001
    Location:
    Kaneohe, Hawaii
    Hi 9600baud,

    For really good overclockable RAM, look at Corsair or Mushkin.

    Between Kingston and PNY, I don't know which would be better since I don't overclock...but I've used Kingston RAM in almost all my builds without any problems.

    :) Cricket
     

Share This Page