Kind of dumb question about SSD and new build

Discussion in 'Build Your Own PC' started by 11290slk, Feb 17, 2012.

1. 11290slk

11290slk

Getting ready to build a new desktop (1st one in about 4 years) and want to use SSD and 2 additional HDD's. Have built multiple machines in the past but none with SSD.

Do I just install the SSD by itself, load the OS (Win 7) and then install the HDD's after the OS is loaded or do I go ahead and install everything and then just load the OS to the SSD.

Sorry for such a dumb question but I'm new to the SSD thing. Planning on installing a 128 SSD for OS and programs. Pricing is just not that much more for the larger size.

2. Staren

Staren

Someone else might post who has more experience with them, but as I understand SSDs, they read just like any other hard drive to the BIOS. So either way would work.

3. 11290slk

11290slk

Thanks. That is what I understood also from what I've read, and should be able to do it either way.

4. jdeb

jdeb

There are two scenarios really but one of them depends on the chip-set of the motherboard. If you go with a Z68 board, it supports Intel Smart Response Technology (SRT). This technology allows you to use an SSD (up to 64GB) for hard drive caching. This is setup along with the OS. SRT will speed up the overall performance and make your spin drive faster as well.

The most expensive but best performance scenario is to use a larger SSD (120GB or larger) and install the OS and applications on it and have your spin drive as a data drive. This scenario is not dependent on any chip-set. If money is not an issue, get the largest SSD you can afford.

AnandTech - Intel Z68 Chipset & Smart Response Technology (SSD Caching) Review

5. 11290slk

11290slk

Thanks. The second scenario is the one that I had intended to use with a 128 SSD drive and a couple of HDD's (one for data and the other for backup of the first).