Keyboard, mouse not recognized

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware' started by Charles, Apr 6, 2005.

  1. Charles

    Charles

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2000
    Messages:
    1,398
    System
    E-machine C1844
    AMD AthlonXP

    System had Power supply, motherboard bundle with Biostar M7VIG400 changed. System was booted with non-emachine keyboard and mouse and worked fine. Afterwards my sister got the pc back and used the original keyboard and mouse and system boots but mouse and keyboard don't work and apparetly machine stops at log on. I don't think so, but are keyboard and mouse for e-machine propietary? If not then would doing an F8 along with a repair the way to go?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Panama Red

    Panama Red If I'm not here, I may be cruisin'! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    14,773
    Location:
    near the left coast of Michigan
    What os? PS/2 or usb mouse and keyboard?
     
  3. Charles

    Charles

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2000
    Messages:
    1,398
    PS/2 mouse and keyboard. Why would it make a difference?
     
  4. ZYFER

    ZYFER

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    68
    Location:
    Tampa Bay, FL
    did she plug the keyboard and mouse into the wrong ports? you have two ps/2 ports, they must be plugged into their corresponding ports not just any one of the two...
     
  5. Panama Red

    Panama Red If I'm not here, I may be cruisin'! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    14,773
    Location:
    near the left coast of Michigan
    It shouldn't unless you added special software like Logitech or Microsoft. I work on eMachine's periodically and have had no compatibility issues with my generic keyboard and mouse combo. Do I understand correctly that you replaced the motherboard? Did you reuse the same hard drive with the old os still installed? If so and she is using XP, you'll need to do a repair/install and load all the new motherboard drivers.
     
  6. Charles

    Charles

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2000
    Messages:
    1,398
    Good observation but no, the connectors are on the right locations.

    Yes new mobo and old hd. I didn't installed mobo, somebody else did and I don't know if he did a repair but it works with his keyboard, mouse combo but not with my sisters emachines keyboard, mouse combo.

    Yes I think best is to direct my sister to do a repair command.
     
  7. Al Pollock

    Al Pollock

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 1999
    Messages:
    1,272
    Location:
    Mt. Hope NY
    We assume that you pluged in the keyboard and mouse before power on or at least rebooted if you did
    AL
     

Share This Page