is my video card pretty good?

Discussion in 'Gaming and Benchmarks' started by eracheff, Mar 1, 2002.

  1. eracheff

    eracheff

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2002
    Messages:
    165
    Location:
    FL
    I am just wondering if I have a decent video card. This would be for normal gaming, nothing big though.




    Geforce 2 mx400 64mb


    Thanks
     
  2. Comrade_Volkov

    Comrade_Volkov

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    Spudsville, USA
    PCI or AGP?

    It's fine for running normal apps. If it's PCI, then it's one of the better cards out there. If it's AGP, then it's decent, but a long ways from the top.
     
  3. DrZaius

    DrZaius

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2000
    Messages:
    7,030
    Location:
    Fullerton, CA
    Yeah, it's a decent card, should work fine for normal gaming.
     
  4. eracheff

    eracheff

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2002
    Messages:
    165
    Location:
    FL
    everytime that I start up a game(Mob Rule) it freezes up after awhile. I have gotten through most of the intro but nothing more. Civilization II works fine but not the other game. What do you guys think?
     
  5. Charger

    Charger

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2000
    Messages:
    767
    I have GeForce2 MX, 32 MB, AGP and it works fine with Wolfenstein and Unreal Tournament. How much RAM do you have? How much is set aside(in BIOS) for video?
     
  6. eracheff

    eracheff

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2002
    Messages:
    165
    Location:
    FL
    I have 256mb of RAM. But the problem is that ever since I built this computer I haven't been able to get into the BIOS so I wouldn't know how much is set aside. Right when I press delete it locks up. But I can get into windows.
     
  7. Jenni

    Jenni PC Tinkerer

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 1999
    Messages:
    2,090
    Location:
    Long Beach, Mississippi
    Might want to check the card and see if it has a fan on the heatsink. Some of the "cheaper" manufacturers try to get away with running them without a fan.

    Other than that, if you download Sisoft's Sandra, under "Mainboard Information" it has a listing for AGP Aperature size, and a lot of other useful system information.
     
  8. eracheff

    eracheff

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2002
    Messages:
    165
    Location:
    FL
    The video card I have does have a fan. Where is the Sandra Sisoft?
     
  9. Jenni

    Jenni PC Tinkerer

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 1999
    Messages:
    2,090
    Location:
    Long Beach, Mississippi
  10. wilsontc

    wilsontc

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2001
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    make sure it is the selected card.
    right click you back ground -> settings and select it from the drop down list
    if this is done download the lastest drivers form the manufactures web site
     
  11. Werewolfdaddy

    Werewolfdaddy 10th Level Vice President

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2001
    Messages:
    1,135
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    What I would do first is go into My Computer and check the device manager to see if there is a conflict of some sort.
     
  12. mike breck

    mike breck

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,700
    Location:
    Scotland
    If this is just happening with one game, then I would suspect the game as the culprit before anything else.

    Check the Mob Rule Web Site and see if there is a patch for the game. Also, do a search for Mob Rule on one of the search engines like Google and see if you can find any links to problems or user forums concerning this game. It may be a a common bug.

    HTH
     
  13. Werewolfdaddy

    Werewolfdaddy 10th Level Vice President

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2001
    Messages:
    1,135
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    I need to stop reading these forums while I'm half asleep. Mike is right; it's probably the game. I have a geforce 3 ti500 that absolutely roars through every game I have except Max Payne. MP wont' even start to play.
     

Share This Page