Installed my brand spanking new CD-RW...

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware' started by el_novato, Sep 5, 2002.

  1. el_novato

    el_novato

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2002
    Messages:
    472
    Location:
    G.P., TX
    ....but I'm having problems with the drive. Keep in mind I'm relatively new at this so please bear with me. Ok...this is what's happening...my 2 year old Compaq Presario came with a CD-ROM and a CD-RW. I've decided it's time to upgrade it and so far, I've added a DVD-ROM. Two days ago I bought the BUSLink 48x12x48x CD-RW drive. (Under my device manager it shows up as Lite On). Anyway, after I installed it I tried it out by burning a CD but the E: drive (original CD-ROM) won't read any disks. If I put back the old CD-RW, everything works fine. The new drive didn't come with any drivers. The ribbons are properly connected and they are jumpered as follows:

    E: CD-ROM Master
    F: CD-RW Cable Select
    G: DVD-ROM Slave

    What could be the problem here? I greatly appreciate any input...I'm ready to put this thing back together!!
     
  2. Nuclear Krusader

    Nuclear Krusader Mondsreitersmann

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 1999
    Messages:
    8,995
    Location:
    Skingrad
    Hi el_novato, and welcome to the PC Mech Forums!

    How's your IDE config? Are the CD-ROM and the DVD hooked up in IDE1? Is the CDRW hooked up in IDE0 along with the HD?
     
  3. Kamikaze2499

    Kamikaze2499

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2001
    Messages:
    143
    ever think about selling all of that stuff and getting a single dvd-rw drive?
     
  4. el_novato

    el_novato

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2002
    Messages:
    472
    Location:
    G.P., TX
    Thanks Nuclear Krusader...

    Actually, you've got it backwards...the CD-ROM is hooked up to the HD and the CD-RW and DVD are on one IDE cable...

    Kamikaze2499...not really...but how much do u think I could get for a 8x4x32x CD-RW...not much I think! that is a good idea but it never occurred to me...another thing, DVD-RW is currently out of my budget! :p
     
  5. el_novato

    el_novato

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2002
    Messages:
    472
    Location:
    G.P., TX
    alright!! I got finally got it to work!! man...I can put it back together now!! in case you're wondering what I did...I jumpered the DVD as CABLE SELECT and made the new CDRW SLAVE. Turned it on and voila!! All three drives are reading discs!! Thanks for your help!!
     

Share This Page