HOME FREE NETWORK

Discussion in 'Online Security' started by BARRACK, Feb 24, 2001.

  1. BARRACK

    BARRACK

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2000
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    Ft Hood,101st,KY.VIEQUES
    I just bought Diamond Home Free Network kit(white box,no manuals).With this kit I can access pc/internet using regular phone jacks. Slow,yes. My question is, Do I have to remove the modem or disable it? Thanks.
     
  2. Dave22

    Dave22

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 1999
    Messages:
    775
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    I don't see any reason why you'd have to disable the modem. Modems and network cards normally have a happy coexistence (unless you've got IRQ troubles!)
     
  3. BARRACK

    BARRACK

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2000
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    Ft Hood,101st,KY.VIEQUES
    The reason is because I need the phone jack to connect the network card.
     
  4. Dave22

    Dave22

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 1999
    Messages:
    775
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Ok, perhaps your question wasn't clear enough. I think what you are asking is that since the modem must make the connection to the Internet (hence "taking up" the phone line), can you run your network on that SAME line. Correct?
     
  5. glc

    glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Messages:
    47,317
    Location:
    Joplin MO
    Plug the phone cord from the wall jack into the network card, then plug another cord into the other jack on the network card and into the modem. Works fine.
     

Share This Page