Getting some bad WU's

Discussion in 'Distributed Computing' started by shadowpr, Mar 21, 2008.

  1. shadowpr

    shadowpr I like me

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7,343
    Location:
    Tejas
    The last few days I've been getting some low point wu's on my dual core.

    I used to get nothing but 2653 I think. They were all 1760 pointers. Now I'm getting 3043, and similar. Only worth 14xx points.

    What's up with that?

    Anyone else notice that?
     
  2. flanzig1

    flanzig1 Wrench Bender

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Messages:
    6,001
    Location:
    Plymouth,MN
    That's always been the way, sometimes a new core has higher points and some lower than the average. Don't feel too bad, I've been getting a bunch of units on my older machines that are worth only 15 points. They crank out fairly fast but doesn't match doing a 300 to 500 point unit.
     
  3. shadowpr

    shadowpr I like me

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7,343
    Location:
    Tejas
    I just got spoiled at having the nice ones since I started. I almost expect them now. It's like the rising of the sun, it's supposed to happen. LOL
     
  4. DSCHIEF

    DSCHIEF

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    292
    Location:
    Santa rosa Ca.
    I just checked , I've finished 23 of those, it's not too bad, they've got a relative short turn-around
    And I've got a few of those 44XX one the one console machine I have . Only 15 points per Wu. What a pain.
     
  5. Jimmy0

    Jimmy0

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Messages:
    278
    Location:
    UK
    I had two 14xx pointers, but now it has moved back to doing 2653, which it has always done.
     
  6. shadowpr

    shadowpr I like me

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7,343
    Location:
    Tejas
    I have that computer turned off this week, since I'm not home, but hopefully when I get backon Saturday, it will give me the 2653 again.

    I feel better knowing I'm not the only one getting those.
     
  7. catacon

    catacon Chop Chop

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,038
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    I've had the same problem for a few months. I tried reinstalling [email protected], but I still get really low point values. Is there anyway to change this?
     
  8. shadowpr

    shadowpr I like me

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7,343
    Location:
    Tejas
    I have no idea.

    I got home and started getting the 2653 again.

    Moved my computer from NY to Florida on a new install and got 2653 as well.

    Not sure what's going on, but if you really want to, you could stop it when you get a low pointer, and then delete the work folder and then restart fah.exe and see if it gives you a good one.
     

Share This Page