dvd freeze when i play on XK

Discussion in 'Windows Legacy Support (XP and earlier)' started by gabriel18, Jun 11, 2005.

  1. gabriel18

    gabriel18

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    dvd freeze when i play on XP

    hi , 2 weeks ago bougth a new pc :

    AMD Athlon(tm) 64 processor
    3000+
    1.81 GHz,1.00 GB of RAM
    160 gb disk
    mother K8N Neo2 platinum MSI
    video card NX6600 MSI
    windows xp prfessional xp sp2
    windows 2000 professional

    when i use windows xp professional and insert a dvd , it start to read and my pc freeze and the only way to go on is restarting the pc , it happen just with dvds , cd work fine , in the same pc got installed windows 2000 professional and my dvd works great , why? , thanks
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2005
  2. glc

    glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Messages:
    47,723
    Location:
    Joplin MO
    Check the properties of the IDE controllers in device manager - make sure they are set to DMA if available. If the drive is PIO only, it will use 100% of the CPU trying to read data. If it's just *movies* that are doing this, what DVD playing software do you have installed in XP?
     
  3. gabriel18

    gabriel18

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    im using power dvd 6 , but try with divx , bsplayer , microsoft player , and power cinema , but away , in ide controlers , got primary , secondary and standar dual , 3 of each one , have to change all? thanks
     
  4. glc

    glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Messages:
    47,723
    Location:
    Joplin MO
    Standard dual? Then you don't have the chipset drivers installed. It should say busmaster instead.
     
  5. gabriel18

    gabriel18

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    sorry , got all this option:
    ultra DMA 4 - ultra66
    ultra DMA 3
    ultra DMA 2 - ultra33
    ultra DMA 1
    ultra DMA 0
    multi-word DMA 2
    multi-word DMA 1
    multi-word DMA 0
    pio mode


    what i should i choose?
     
  6. gabriel18

    gabriel18

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    fixed problem!!! , yeah i install the drivers and update it for windows xp version , and choose the Ultra DMA 4 - ultra 66 , and works great , thank you very very very very very much!!!
     

Share This Page