Connecting Xbox 360 to your computer.

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware' started by mainiac, Feb 24, 2007.

  1. mainiac

    mainiac

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Is there anyway one could connect and play a xbox 360 on a computer that has XP. I know with vista you can, but I was just wondering if it was also possible with xp.
     
  2. jer888

    jer888

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    536
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    what do you mean "play it on the computer'" ? you mean stream media to it?
     
  3. mainiac

    mainiac

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    yes, I mean be able to play it on the xbox and watch it on your computer.
     
  4. jer888

    jer888

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    536
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
  5. mainiac

    mainiac

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    ok thanks
     
  6. mainiac

    mainiac

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    I bought the vga cable and I successfuly got it to work, but I am unable to get any sound. I have two speakers (Dell) that are connected to the onboard (mobo) sound. I tried plugging in the xbox audio directly into the speaker, but it didn't work. Any Help?
     
  7. YukonMaster

    YukonMaster

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    Location:
    Vancouver BC
    Do your speakers support RCA inputs or do they use a 3.5 mm Stereo jack plug? Is it the physical connection that is the problem or is there is no signal through the cable?
     
  8. mainiac

    mainiac

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Planet Earth
  9. YukonMaster

    YukonMaster

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    Location:
    Vancouver BC
    Ok so you have the VGA running how are the rca jacks connected to the computer (if they are)? If they aren't connected to the computer than what method are you using to connect them to the stereo jack plug?
     
  10. mainiac

    mainiac

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Here is how the sound om my computer is set up. The speakers are plugged into the one that says front spkrs. There are five other places on the mobo to put jacks into, since my mobo came with onboard surrond sound.
     
  11. YukonMaster

    YukonMaster

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    Location:
    Vancouver BC
    Ok but are the rca (white and red) jacks that are attached to the VGA cable being used? You need to get a Rca to Stereo mini plug adapter to do this. ex. This
     
  12. mainiac

    mainiac

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Planet Earth
  13. YukonMaster

    YukonMaster

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    Location:
    Vancouver BC
    Those jacks will not connect to your speakers directly and they wont connect to your motherboard either. What you need is a Male RCA to Stereo mini Adapter which someone might be able to direct you to where you can get one as I have no Clue
     
  14. glc

    glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Messages:
    46,130
    Location:
    Joplin MO
    Radio Shack.
     
  15. mainiac

    mainiac

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    ok thanks for the help everyone. Is there any possible way to have bot the computer and the xbox connected to the speakers at the same time (so I don't have to keep on switching the connections)?
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2007
  16. vaderboy

    vaderboy

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    you can use a kvm switch like belkin's flip usb kvm switch. I used it on my 360 which was hooked up to my computer. Make sure to turn hibernation off on your computer or else the screen will not switch back after a certain amount of time.
     
  17. mainiac

    mainiac

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    How would the xbox connect to the kvm switch? Do you just plug the vga cable into it? Also would a kvm switch allow me to connect the speakers to both the computer and the xbox at the same time? Thanks.

    Edit: One last question, would any software alternatives (preferably free) work rather than using a kvm switch, since I already have a lot of cables and wires and I don't really want anymore.
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2007
  18. flanzig1

    flanzig1 Wrench Bender

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Messages:
    6,001
    Location:
    Plymouth,MN
    If that X-box cable came wiith an adapter that plugs into the 2 RCA jacks and is a mini-stereo jack on the other end, should be able to plug it into the line-in jack on the mobo. May need to go into the audio controls and un-mute line in and change volume.
     
  19. mainiac

    mainiac

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Planet Earth
  20. flanzig1

    flanzig1 Wrench Bender

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Messages:
    6,001
    Location:
    Plymouth,MN
    If your talking about the black thing in the guys hand then that's whats needed to connect the Xbox cable to the PC.
     

Share This Page