Checking compatibility on first build

Discussion in 'Build Your Own PC' started by Petrucci_M3, Dec 7, 2005.

  1. Petrucci_M3

    Petrucci_M3

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Hey there

    I was looking to see if my first build is compatible and if there is something you guys would suggest to change or add, any input is appreciated. Thanks again guys.



    Case: Thermaltake XASER, Armor Series $0

    PSU: PC Power & Cooling 510 SLI-PFC ATX12V 510W Power Supply $219.99

    Mobo: ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 SLI X16 ATX AMD Motherboard $229.00

    CPU: AMD Opteron 175 Denmark 1GHz FSB Socket 939 Dual Core Processor Model $520.00

    HDD: Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD2500KS 250GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive $115.00

    RAM: CORSAIR XMS 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered $122.00

    Pri Optical: SONY Black IDE DVD-ROM Drive Model $22.00

    Sec Optical: NEC Black IDE/ATAPI DVD Burner Model $39.99

    Sound Card: Creative Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS GAMER Limited Edition 8 (7.1) Channels PCI $113.50

    Video Card: XFX PVT70FUND7 Geforce 7800GTX 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 $525.00

    FDD: SAMSUNG Black 1.44MB 3.5" Internal Floppy Drive $7.25

    Monitor: DELL UltraSharp 2005FPW 20.1-inch Wide Aspect Flat Panel LCD Monitor $492.15

    OS: Microsoft Windows XP HOME Edition With Service Pack 2 - OEM $87.95



    Total $ 2493.30 + shipping
     
  2. Cricket

    Cricket Shiro Usagi

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 1999
    Messages:
    34,001
    Location:
    Kaneohe, Hawaii
    Why are you getting an Opteron processor? Are you building a server?

    :) Cricket
     
  3. Science_guy

    Science_guy

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    161
    Cricket beat me to it. Opteron + SLI board + gaming audio & video = odd combination. Do you really need that Opteron? You could swap it out for a Venice or San Diego core A64 and save yourself hundreds of dollars.
     
  4. Petrucci_M3

    Petrucci_M3

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    My main processor was a 4600+ X2 but I read off a few forums and reviews saying that the Opteron are easy to OC and are a lot cheapter. So, just see what other people think of this combo. Thanks for posting.
     
  5. blue60007

    blue60007 Wx geek

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2005
    Messages:
    6,638
    Location:
    Indiana
    Getting a server CPU is an odd combination. If you are just gaming you can just get a fast single core, such as the 4000+ San Diego
     
  6. LoC

    LoC

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    313
    i hav e never heard of XFX for video cards, at least not as a reputable one. may i suggest the 3700+ or 4000+ San Diego core as others have suggested. as well, get an eVGA 7800Gt b/c the difference between the GT and GTX is a minimal ~10-15%. and why only 1 video card for an SLI board? no point in SLI w/o two of the EXACT same cards, save $125 for other stuff. (saving from the SLI mobo that is, especially the A8N-32, WAY overpriced) heres a suggestion withotu that CPu/MOBO combo and an A8N-E and 3700+ San Diego u can get 2Gb of 4x512 XMS for faster performance or 2GB of that XMS corsair RAM. oh, and that PSU is unnecessary. get an Antec 480W like in my sig, that thing puts out some SERIOUS juice.
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2005
  7. blue60007

    blue60007 Wx geek

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2005
    Messages:
    6,638
    Location:
    Indiana
    He doesn't have to get two cards now...that can be done earlier. If you want to use SLI, you will need a SLI-certified power supply, and yes, that PC P&C is a bit overkill. Get an Antec TP-II 550 that costs half as much.
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2005
  8. Petrucci_M3

    Petrucci_M3

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    The only problem with this Asus mobo is that there are a few bugs that need to be fixed. The reason why I'm getting this PSU is because there are a lot of PSU out there that aren't working with this board. As take from the Asus forum:

    "PSU tip: You will save yourself a lot of headache if you buy a GOOD 600W or better PSU with this motherboard. Antec 550W and below PSUs are generally NOT working with this motherboard. Weak +12V amperage ratings seem to be the cause (thanks Julio).

    Here are the recommended (and known working) PSUs that forum members have had success with:

    * PC Power and Cooling Turbocool 510SLI (I have tried this personally and it's brilliant, but expensive). Note, I have tested this with MY configuration (5 hard drives and a SINGLE 7800GT
    ) but not with two graphics cards in SLI. I assume it will work, though.
    * Enermax 600W SLI model. (mentioned by a few people to work)
    * Seasonic S12-600 600Watt PSU. (mentioned by MANY people to work)
    * OCZ PowerStream 600W. (anandtech.com uses this PSU in their benchmarks so it has to be good, right?)"
     
  9. Stevevai9

    Stevevai9

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Opterons are great processors for overclocking. One guy on PCG forums overclocked his 144 past fx-57 speeds....on stock cooling. I say go ahead with the opteron.
     
  10. LoC

    LoC

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    313
    with a freakin opteron?
     
  11. blue60007

    blue60007 Wx geek

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2005
    Messages:
    6,638
    Location:
    Indiana
    It's a processor designed for use in servers. They aren't designed to be used in a desktop system.
     
  12. LoC

    LoC

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    313
    and that means?
     
  13. Petrucci_M3

    Petrucci_M3

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks for backing me up. BTW nice name aswell.
     

Share This Page