AVG 8 update keeps asking for a reboot; doesn't apply

Discussion in 'Online Security' started by Force Flow, Jul 9, 2008.

  1. Force Flow

    Force Flow Barefoot on the Moon! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2002
    Messages:
    14,146
    Location:
    Northeastern USA
    This is on XP SP3. The update manager update requests a restart to apply an update, but after the machine reboots it asks again. I've gone through this loop 3 times now.

    Last update: 7/9/2008 10:15AM

    Version: 8.0.136

    Update Manager
    The update Needs Restart


    Any ideas or anyone else run into this?
     
  2. raftero

    raftero

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2001
    Messages:
    1,399
    Location:
    lometa,tx.
    can't help as to why but i just finished the update and did not get the reboot request.
     
  3. glc

    glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Messages:
    47,730
    Location:
    Joplin MO
    The AVG updater has been behaving well so far on both my Win2K and my XP machines - I think since I installed it I've had to reboot 2 or 3 times for program updates, and never for a definition update.
     
  4. sammons

    sammons

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    THis is happenign to me too. It's driving me nuts

    :eek:(
     
  5. Ray_S

    Ray_S

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Messages:
    115
    Location:
    Forres Morayshire Scotland
    This was happening to me. I have fixed it by doing a repair install and then letting the update manager do its job. I had tried this before so I believe it must have been a corrupted update package.

    Hope this helps.

    Ray
     
  6. Force Flow

    Force Flow Barefoot on the Moon! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2002
    Messages:
    14,146
    Location:
    Northeastern USA
    I ended up downloading the latest version of AVG, uninstalling the current version, and installing the newest version. It pulled some updates, but didn't ask for a reboot.

    So, it *looks* like that fixed it for now.
     
  7. peterg7

    peterg7

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    AVG 8.0 Update Manager The update Needs Restart

    PROBLEM:
    My system is XP SP3. The update manager update requests a restart to apply an update, but after the machine reboots it asks again. I went through this loop at least 5 times and always AVG indicates it has updated but that it requires a restart.

    Version: 8.0.134

    Update Manager
    The update Needs Restart

    <><><><><><><><>

    I took your suggestion, Force Flow and was successful. Huge thanks!

    The AVG Knowledge Database recommended uninstalling my AVG Free and purchasing and installing a paid version to fix this issue, but I uninstalled and reinstalled a more recent build of AVG 8.0 Free and it solved the problem.

    I have used AVG for years and have never encountered a problem the free program could not fix. This was the first glitch I've had with AVG .

    Problem with AVG 8 Build 134 as follows:
    Got the following 2 infection results after a scheduled scan:
    Program: Dr. DIVX Music File Converter
    Virus: DivXInstaller.exe

    Program: DivXInstaller.exe:\$JK\DivXConnectionTester.exe

    AVG could not remove the selected files. The name of the infections were the same - Generic.IMQ.

    <><><><><><><><>

    So I uninstalled AVG 8, rebooted, and then downloaded and installed the latest version of AVG 8.0 Free (Build 138).

    THIS SOLVED THE PROBLEM.

    Peter
     
  8. Lord_Webby

    Lord_Webby

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    We have AVG AV 8 Network Edition at work and are having the exact same problem. Spoken to AVG and they say uninstall & reinstall AVG. We have multiple clients with 2000+ machines! Do they really think we're gonna do that to every one and be happy with that solution? What happened to being able to roll back an update? :mad:
     
  9. glc

    glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Messages:
    47,730
    Location:
    Joplin MO
    If you have the network edition, you should be able to push updates out to all the clients.
     
  10. avguser

    avguser

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Essex, England, UK
    AVG update loop restart fix

    hi avg users,

    please backup your system before attempting the following. i cannot be held responsible for damage to your avg installation/pc. proceed at your own risk!

    give the following a go:

    goto: C:\Program Files\AVG\AVG8

    rename: updatecomps.cfg to updatecomps.cfg.old

    run avg updater

    reboot

    should fix!

    If you have 2000 pcs/laptops to perform this on (test first on one), probably best to roll out a script to rename the file via gp or your preferred method depending on os.

    not sure how this has happened, none of our clients have experienced this, either avg's fault or network packet loss causing corrupt files. maybe an idea to check your networking hw, but if your confident then either bad luck or its avg dispatching corrupt files.

    i am quite surprised avg said reinstall, that’s not a fix, just work around. they are normally pretty good.

    good luck!

    Tim (avg uk reseller / network & server engineer)
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2008
  11. rjfvillarosa

    rjfvillarosa Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    7,698
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales. UK
    avguser.
    Do you have anyway to qualify this fix? Do you have any sources of reference for it?

    To anyone wanting to try this fix. I strongly recommend you rename the file rather than delete it until you are certain the fix works without causing any other kind of problem.

    rjfvillarosa ~ securities forum moderator.
     
  12. avguser

    avguser

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Essex, England, UK
    worked fine for me!

    ive updated the post.

    and yes, rename if you dont use your recycle bin.
     
  13. rjfvillarosa

    rjfvillarosa Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    7,698
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales. UK
    Tim.
    I hope your suggestion works OK for Lord Webby, updating/fixing 2000+ machines would be a nightmare.
    Thanks for the tip.
     
  14. HyPeR

    HyPeR

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Worked perfectly... thanks a lot! And I didn't have to reboot once :)
     
  15. Energy Recruitment

    Energy Recruitment

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    pakistan
    hi,
    Ok I’ve received a lot of comments on my series of posts on the topic of AVG 8.0 free anti-virus…now I know what you are thinking some of these sound down right MESSED UP…but they are all fixes and modifications I’ve made for over 6244 clients that have contacted me..so give it a shot or switch to AVIRA or AVAST….

    <!--[if gte mso 9]> Normal 0 MicrosoftInternetExplorer4 <![endif]--> Other issues I have discovered is that the longer you have AVG 8.0 on your system the longer the scan takes…example…the first time I ran the scan it took 2hr and 45min now it takes up to 10hrs and 45min…and this is the same system..with no extra files installed on it…….and a freshly formatted computer with 512megs of ram 60gig hard-drive…Windows Xp Home Service Pack 2…

    (NOTE THAT IF YOU DO DECIDE TO FOLLOW ANY OF MY RE-FORMATTING OPTIONS…..BACK-UP YOUR DATA…AND MAKE SURE YOU HAVE ALL THE DISK TO RE-INSTALL EVERYTHING…)

    The Following are ISSUES AND FIXES for both AVG 8.0 and the new AVG 8.0.175. This post also still covers all the older updates too AVG Free Anti-Virus 8.0…..

    AVG install or Un-install issues

    <!--[if gte mso 9]> Normal 0 MicrosoftInternetExplorer4 <![endif]-->
    - Why do I get an error on Vista that? Says”General Error, Not enough Free Memory”

    *The reason is that you are not installing AVG in the Administrator mode…Vista is warning you, that you do not have the privileged or access in Window’s own Cryptic WAY…So here is the fix…

    (Fix: Use the Right mouse button and click the Option that says Run as Administrator…..there you are done…and it will install…)

    - Invalid or Cluttered Registry - All I mean by this is that even thou you have uninstalled AVG 7 or 7.5 it is still has an entry’s hidden in your core of your computer….and sometime that cause AVG 8.0 to have a heart attack…because it cause a conflict… (Fix: If you have a registry fixer..run the scan and remove the invalid entry’s..)

    - Having an older version of AVG…anyone (Fix: Un-install and restart computer…then go into C: drive and remove any AVG file folders with the word Grisoft, AVG 7 or AVG 7.5, AVG Root kit…or AVG anti-spyware…Anything not AVG 8.0…then re-start and if you have a registry scanner..run again..and it should work)
     
  16. rjfvillarosa

    rjfvillarosa Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    7,698
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales. UK
    Energy Recruitment. I have removed the advertising link from your signature.
    Please reread the forum rules paying particular attention to rule #6.

    Thank you for understanding.
     
  17. luv_ktv

    luv_ktv

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    that's totally cool!

    everyday, once i turn on my computer, my avg will ask me to restart. I thought it has downloaded and installed updates, thus requiring the reboot.

    Now that I renamed the file, and running the updater, I am actually getting 2 updates, totalling to 35MB.

    AVG did not have such problem on XP.

    Hope things will work fine after the update!

    PS: Thanks for sharing the fix. I chanced upon this site and saw ur response. In order to thank you, I registered myself... although it may be the only time I visit this site..
     
  18. tgazda

    tgazda

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    AVG 8.0 repeated reboot requests

    I am on XP SP2. Been getting these repeated requests since this morning 2/4/09 after the latest update to 8.0.233

    Because of this I could not receive email into my accounts (send was OK) using Outlook Express and got repeated server disconnects. Despite repeated reboots, cleaning my registry and even shutdown, etc., eetc., nothing helped.

    Until I turned off the AVG 8.0 email scanner. Then everything works fine now. Getting my email just fine at three different email addresses via OE. As soon as I turn the email scanner back on, the same problem comes back.

    BTW, there doesn't seem to be a problem with a computer using full Outlook.

    Looks to me like there is some kind of bug in the email scanner download. Anyone out there from AVG monitoring this???
     
  19. Petef56

    Petef56

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    708
    Location:
    USA, New Jersey
    In my experience, your solution above seems to be the best fix
    anytime AVG begins to act really wierd.

    ---pete---
     
  20. HAL9000

    HAL9000

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 1999
    Messages:
    17,633
    Location:
    Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
    I had the same problem on only one of my four machines... I uninstalled and reinstalled the latest version and all was well.
     

Share This Page