Admin Password

Discussion in 'Windows Legacy Support (XP and earlier)' started by Wildnites, Dec 6, 2006.

  1. Wildnites

    Wildnites

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    Elizabeth, NJ
    I'm trying to run a checkdisk diag from WinXp Pro CD. I am being asked for the Admin Password which the owner of the PC doesn't know (or remember). How do I get past this problem? Her PC just continuously reboots after getting a trojan flood virus, never actually getting to the Windows desktop. I see the HD light glow red when the PC starts to boot which indicates trouble. I want to run the checkdisk diag from the recovery prog on the CD but we don't know the admin password. Can anybody help?
     
  2. glc

    glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Messages:
    47,730
    Location:
    Joplin MO
  3. Ob1

    Ob1 EGO MY LEGO

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,740
    Location:
    Tatooine, Binary Star System
    if the owner doesnt remember entering in an administrators password, then just leave it blank indicating no password has been set.
     
  4. Wildnites

    Wildnites

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    Elizabeth, NJ
    Yes, I can get to safe mode. Yes I tried just hitting 'enter' but the same message comes right back requesting the admin password. I'm just goin' around in circles. I will try to create a BartPE CD. Not sure what it actually is. Looks like a kind of deluxe imitation of the XP pre-install environment. I've never done this before (BartPE) any tips? Thanks, again.
     
  5. Panama Red

    Panama Red If I'm not here, I may be cruisin'! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    14,773
    Location:
    near the left coast of Michigan
    All the searches I've done indicate this password issue is difficult to bypass unless you can first boot to windows. Can you get it to boot to Safe Mode? If so, try using one of the methods described by TheElderGeek. Do a google search for "admin password recovery console". Another option would be to remove that hard drive, slave it to another machine and do the scans from there.
     
  6. glc

    glc Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Messages:
    47,730
    Location:
    Joplin MO
    If you can get to safe mode you can run chkdsk.
     

Share This Page