PCMech Report

Old 05-18-2004, 09:34 PM   #1
bigandy
Folding For PCMech
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: San Dimas, CA
Posts: 3,136
Power Supply Reference Guide

Please see updated thread. This thread is no longer maintained, and has migrated to the new thread.

A new power supply reference guide has been created to replace this thread. -----------moderator-------------------

http://forum.pcmech.com/showthread.php?t=131195


As requested by a few members, I have compiled a final list, which breaks off of a much longer thread, and have made it into this "final" list. This will hopefully serve as a guide to anyone not sure on whether their PSU is good or bad, or for recommendations to builders.

Refer to linked thread!


Also, in case you are interested in what size power supply you need, I have included a calculator, and a guide that should give you some idea.

http://www.jscustompcs.com/power_supply/

http://www.pcpowercooling.com/maxpc/cases.htm

(Both links courtesy of Pancake)

However these over estimate the power needs quite often, most current systems can run quite well on a good 350W PSU. When you start to get into the higher end systems, with the A64's, and in the future the X800 cards, etc., you will want to up the wattage.

Here is a guide describing what process you should go through, and things you should look for when buying a PSU.

Last edited by kram 2.0; 06-18-2009 at 08:41 PM.
bigandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2004, 10:12 PM   #2
Markoman01027
Member (12 bit)
 
Markoman01027's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Easthampton, Massachusetts
Posts: 2,633
Pretty good list...gonna use that as a refrence.

I thought I already told you..Deer is on the good side and not on the bad side LOL
Markoman01027 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2004, 10:46 AM   #3
Cricket
Shiro Usagi
Premium Member
 
Cricket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Kaneohe, Hawaii
Posts: 34,002
Quote:
Originally posted by Markoman01027
I thought I already told you..Deer is on the good side and not on the bad side LOL
Go ahead and use one in your computer then...gee, feels like I said this before .

Cricket
Cricket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2004, 07:27 PM   #4
suitcase
Member (10 bit)
 
suitcase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Central Virginia
Posts: 786
Leave yourself about 30 percent headroom. Actual output goes down as heat goes up.
suitcase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2004, 07:34 PM   #5
mikezel
Member (10 bit)
 
mikezel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Toronto
Posts: 894
Send a message via MSN to mikezel
Thanks bigandy, i was waiting for this . Makes for a much cleaner bookmark

Mike
mikezel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2004, 07:52 PM   #6
TwoRails
Member (14 bit)
Premium Member
 
TwoRails's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: The Great NorthWest
Posts: 12,594
Nice one, bigandy - This one's a keeper for sure
TwoRails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2004, 09:27 PM   #7
Hi Ho
Certified Audio Nut
 
Hi Ho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Washington State
Posts: 7,254
Send a message via MSN to Hi Ho
Why hasn't this thread stickied with the number of power supply questions on this board?
__________________
"I'm not lying. I'm writing fiction with my mouth." - Homer Simpson My Miscelaneous Gallery
ASUS P7P55D PRO / Intel Core i7 860 / 8GB Crucial DDR3 1333 RAM / OCZ Vertex 2 120GB SSD / Seagate 1TB 7200.12 / Asus Radeon 5870 1GB / OSX Mavericks + Windows 7 (Parallels) / Audioquest Dragonfly USB DAC / Corsair HX750 PSU / Apple Magic Trackpad / Dual Asus 24" Monitors
Hi Ho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2004, 09:57 PM   #8
bigandy
Folding For PCMech
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: San Dimas, CA
Posts: 3,136
No, and it was suggested/requested that the thread be "redone" with a final list in hopes that it would be stickied.

The problem is that not very many mods come through this forum on a regular basis.
bigandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2004, 10:56 PM   #9
GrfxArt
Member (7 bit)
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: California
Posts: 76
I thought I've seen more PSU questions in the Case Modding / Cooling section......
GrfxArt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2004, 11:23 PM   #10
Panama Red
Served with Pride
Staff
Premium Member
 
Panama Red's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: near the left coast of Michigan
Posts: 14,700
Send a message via AIM to Panama Red
Hey, bigandy. Why not post another thread in the case modding section with the same title and link it to here? Nice job, btw. Copied to Notepad for my future reference.
__________________
Getting old is not for sissies!
Panama Red is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2004, 11:44 PM   #11
mystvearn
Anime:Any-may
 
mystvearn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Kota Bharu, Malaysia
Posts: 2,447
hi-cute/icute PSU?
mystvearn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2004, 09:08 PM   #12
Sumdumgi
Member (10 bit)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 555
Nice work and Thanks for the effort!
Sumdumgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2004, 12:20 PM   #13
Rodgers46
Member (5 bit)
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 25
Send a message via MSN to Rodgers46
Power supply

I'm brand new to all of this. I have so far purchased:
A7N8x deluxe v. 2.0
AMD Athlon XP 3000+ 333FSB
Powmax case w/ 400watt.
After reading that my power supply is bad, am I going to ruin my hardware or something? I'm on a pretty strict budget from my wife and still need to purchase memory, hard drive, video card etc.

Advice please
Rodgers46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2004, 12:50 PM   #14
Panama Red
Served with Pride
Staff
Premium Member
 
Panama Red's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: near the left coast of Michigan
Posts: 14,700
Send a message via AIM to Panama Red
Think it's a predictability problem. No one can say for sure that your power supply will fail. But that brand has a higher incidence of failure than those on the good list. If/when it does fail again it's hard to predict what will happen. Sometimes the power supply just stops working. Other times it may create a power surge and take several key components with it. Buying a higher quality power supply is like buying insurance.
Panama Red is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2004, 01:10 PM   #15
corosus
Member (10 bit)
 
corosus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: brussels
Posts: 788
Send a message via MSN to corosus
thanks bigandy, great list
annybody have anny experience with fsp-group psu's?
corosus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2004, 01:50 PM   #16
Vigo
Member (10 bit)
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 590
Send a message via ICQ to Vigo
FSP Group is Fortron Source. The box says FSP Group INC. The website is FSP Group Inc. and the psu says FSP Group Inc. however; the right under it on the psu you can see "FORTRON/SOURCE" I was a bit confused myself. Perhaps big daddy might be kind enough to include "FSP Group" as fortron source to prevent some more confusion
Vigo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2004, 01:59 PM   #17
corosus
Member (10 bit)
 
corosus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: brussels
Posts: 788
Send a message via MSN to corosus
thx that's great news
corosus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2004, 02:21 PM   #18
trulad
Member (11 bit)
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: PA USA
Posts: 1,170
It's disturbing to see that there are nearly as many bad ones as good ones. I'll bet there are tons of prople that don't even know what brand they have.
trulad
__________________
Dell Inspiron 2020 All In One
1 tb hard drive
1 tb Western Digital Black external back-up
4 gb. Ram
Win. 8.1 Pro.
#2 Sony Lap Top 500 gb. hard drive
3.0ghz AMD Athlon 4gb Ram
Win.8.1
trulad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2004, 02:32 PM   #19
Vigo
Member (10 bit)
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 590
Send a message via ICQ to Vigo
I think the word "bad" is misleading. Maybe a better word to use is "cheap". All computer coponents come in wide ranges of quality. And sometimes cheap and bad don't mean the same thing. I mean, I bought a 10 dollar kensington keyboard. Is it bad? I dont think so; it works well enough. But its cheap compared to a higher priced and better quality logitech keyboard.

A lot of those "bad" psu's will work quite well in simple or older rigs. (some more-so than others... I wouldnt put a DEER in my ancient 386; its taken enough abuse over the years.)

Most of your retail computers (just about all retail computers a year or older) come with cheap psu's like the one's listed.

So again, bad should probably say or atleast translate as "cheap". Those are the psu's you probably wouldn't look for if you want to spend 1200+ on a large rig.
Vigo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2004, 04:55 PM   #20
Rodgers46
Member (5 bit)
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 25
Send a message via MSN to Rodgers46
Thanks for the help. I'm sure I'll need a lot more before I'm finished. Now back to the web and more shopping.
Rodgers46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2004, 05:07 PM   #21
Markoman01027
Member (12 bit)
 
Markoman01027's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Easthampton, Massachusetts
Posts: 2,633
Quote:
Originally posted by Cricket
Go ahead and use one in your computer then...gee, feels like I said this before .

Cricket
I was only joking around
Markoman01027 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2004, 05:19 PM   #22
mc2phat
Remember
 
mc2phat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: MO
Posts: 1,478
Respectfully submit "Greenline" for the bad list. They're not very common, but I've seen them in FoxConn/Supercase cases.
mc2phat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2004, 05:22 PM   #23
mc2phat
Remember
 
mc2phat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: MO
Posts: 1,478
"FSP Group is Fortron Source. The box says FSP Group INC. The website is FSP Group Inc. and the psu says FSP Group Inc. however; the right under it on the psu you can see "FORTRON/SOURCE" I was a bit confused myself. Perhaps big daddy might be kind enough to include "FSP Group" as fortron source to prevent some more confusion "

FSP Group builds Fortron, PowerMan, and Sparkle power supplies.

Regards
mc2phat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2004, 09:39 AM   #24
fedz
GFX Techman
 
fedz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: The kingdom United
Posts: 1,316
Levicom? I'm looking at a Levicom blackline 350W
I heard that skyhawk make good PSU's so my other option is a skyhawk 400W
http://forum.pcmech.com/showthread.p...threadid=99463
Anyone got any experience with any of those?
fedz
fedz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2004, 09:24 PM   #25
mb26
Member (11 bit)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,124
you should put CWT in brackets next to channel well since they are often labeled as this, or atleast call it 'Channell Well Technology to imply the link with CWT.. anyway too late now i guess.. also q-tec are the best on the 'bad' list i'd say they weren't bad orr good.

also, didn't we just decide that coolmax were bad because they had the word 'max' in it? (um, enermax anyone?)
if this was the only reason it was put on the bad list then i think it needs to be removed now.
they make fanless, expensive PSUs. i'd say any PSU which is fanless has to be good; generally i find that if a PSU is able to operate quietly (with little cooling) then it is high quality. it may well be a modified sparkle like most quiet PSUs.
it has really good rails by the look of it aswell ( http://www.directron.com/cf480coolmax.html )
mb26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2004, 12:06 AM   #26
thorlo6
Member (9 bit)
 
thorlo6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Florence, Mississippi
Posts: 294
Hey Bigandy, there was a name that I saw was missing. As to which list you tell me. The name of the PSU Co. is Startech. which list should they be put in?thorlo6
__________________
[FONT=Times New Roman]
thorlo6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2004, 09:01 PM   #27
Kenyius
Member (3 bit)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Vietnamese
Posts: 4
Send a message via Yahoo to Kenyius
Anyone can give me instruction for installing AT power supply ?!! I need it for next report (red hot !!!). Merci first .
Kenyius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2004, 09:03 PM   #28
Kenyius
Member (3 bit)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Vietnamese
Posts: 4
Send a message via Yahoo to Kenyius
I forget .Please tell me trouble shooting of installing AT power supply . thanz mux
Kenyius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2004, 08:20 AM   #29
TwoRails
Member (14 bit)
Premium Member
 
TwoRails's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: The Great NorthWest
Posts: 12,594
Hi Kenyius,

That would be a very good topic to start you own thread with.
TwoRails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2004, 05:46 PM   #30
bigandy
Folding For PCMech
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: San Dimas, CA
Posts: 3,136
Tin Canary has put together this wonderful guide that gives some very useful information on what to look for in a PSU, including what amp ratings you should look for on the different rails. Very useful if you are unsure on a unit you're looking at.
bigandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.